Inner Work

“What must I do to eliminate as far as possible my personal self, so I can leave those in my care unburdened by my subjective nature? How do I act so I don’t interfere with a child’s destiny? How can I best educate a child toward human freedom?”“The primary task of a Waldorf teacher is to understand the human being in body, soul, and spirit. From this understanding will grow the approach, the curriculum, and the methods of an education capable of addressing the whole child.” —Roberto Trostli

The above quotes are from the book Rhythms of Learning by Roberto Trostli a very good book to help understand the methods involved with Waldorf Education. So what does one do to eliminate my personal self? A LOT of inner work especially if you came with baggage. This is even harder in my opinion when homeschooling. When working in a school environment one goes home at he end of the day to “unwind”. As a parent / teacher home with your students all the time this can be hard to swallow. Everything I say or do can “interfere” with my child’s destiny. Meditation and prayer are the beginning and end of my days. There are many things a person could do to help work within yourself but starting my day with yoga is what has worked for me. I get up an hour earlier then my family in order to have quiet. I have set up a transition of waking the house (opening the blinds) into our rhythm. The Little’s know not to come out of their room if their blinds are still closed. I have set a goal of at least 15 minutes. I mean that’s sun salutations twice through I could do that. I usually end up completing a half hour. The flow of my movements take me right into meditation where I sit and ponder the day ahead of me. What NEEDS to be done today and walk it out in my mind. Breakfast , chores, school, etc. How do I want it to flow? Is my day balanced? Does it follow our rhythm? I love A Little Garden Flower’s radio show. She recently did a show on planning with guided meditations http://waldorfjourney.typepad.com/the_gnomes_home/. I use this as a base for my family. I have a family picture hanging in the direction  I sit and look at each member meditating on their needs.  What story might Sky or little sis need to hear today. Maybe I need to make one up. How can I reach their soul? I do this while planning out what read a loud books I might need when planning the school year as well. I always end with a prayer of gratitude. It is hard to be negative when there is so much to be thankful for. This is my inner work as wife, parent, and teacher. Part two of my inner work comes at the end of the day. This is to fill MY soul. I like to read scripture right before bed to help my spirit grow while I sleep. It is amazing things that come to you in the morning. Answers to questions you might have. I also like to read something inspiring maybe study  one of Steiner’s lectures as well. I am not going to pretend this does not take discipline on my part. Sometimes it is hard to roll myself out of bed when I sleep 4 or 5 hours that night but that is when my soul needs this time the most. Waldorf Education is a life changing journey not just about gnomes and fairies but true spiritual healing. I owe this much to my family to be the best that I can be. 

Leave a Reply

