Celebrating Sukkot

I am amazed how the flow of our school year has turned out so far. I will admit I thought I would be farther along in the Old Testament by now but really like how everything is falling in place. We just spent the last two weeks celebrating Autumn and this weeks celebration of Sukkot  falls right in line with the season. Unfortunately the temperatures have been a little chilly for Papa and Miss Sky to work on their building project. We plan to revisit the holiday in the summer. Sky really took to the fact that living in a sukkah for the week helps us remember to live a simple life and how well off we truly are. I think a camp out in warmer temps might be a good way to deepen this theory. I am loving the inner work posts Melisa form A Little Garden Flower has been posting http://waldorfjourney.typepad.com/. In my honest opinion inner work is the most important part of Waldorf homeschooling. I come up with so many ideas during my meditation time to use in my blocks not to mention the sanity it gives me to complete our school day. After my yoga, meditation, and prayer I made pancakes and bacon for breakfast while The Little’s started laundry. Miss Sky and I cleaned up the breakfast mess and we started circle time.  We sang our transition song then I read the poem October in A Child’s Calendar. This month we have new songs and finger plays centering around pumpkins. Besides our morning songs we sing two seasonal songs they are Old McDonald had a farm, we used the animals we saw from the farms over the weekend, and Autumn-time is coming. http://www.dltk-holidays.com/fall/autumnscoming.htm. I found a lot a great pumpkin finger plays there as well.http://www.dltk-holidays.com/fall/pumpkinsongs.htm and http://www.dltk-holidays.com/fall/poetry.htm. We are working on lesson three with our penny whistles and having too much fun. During beanbag we clapped out counting by 2, 5, and 10 then threw the beanbag back and forth working whole to parts. I say 2 is? Sky says 2×1 and so on, then we go back down with division. For Main Lesson I read Sukkot ,The Great Day from the book The Family Treasury of Jewish Holidays. Then gave Miss Sky her spelling words for the week :

season

harvest

festival

camp

Egypt

Moses

protect

without

desert

farmers

wheat

grapes

crops

fields

grown

We read them  sounding out each letter then clapped out the word. After this Sky wrote them twice in her MLB. While she did this I started the broccoli soup for lunch. We are studying compound nouns this week for grammar and she copied her picture in her grammar MLB. http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/3984635683/. Form drawing this week we are still working with last weeks form. We wrapped up main lesson modeling a sukkah with a basket of apples with beeswax ,said our closing verse then broke for lunch.http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/3984636519/ Story time I finished Little House in the Big Woods, and Sky read Tut’s Mummy lost and found she picked up from the library in honor of her field trip last week.  We are still busily working on Little Sis’s birthday gifts for our handwork projects.

Wishing everyone a happy Monday.

One Response to “Celebrating Sukkot”

  1. mamaacorn Says:

    Our day sounds a lot like your day! Happy Monday indeed!

Leave a Reply

