Pumpkins, Pumpkins All Around

Even though today’s weather brought another gloomy day our way we decided to celebrate the festivities of Sukkot inside. I will be honest these rainy days haven’t helped much with my self discipline problem. I am just glad it’s Friday. For breakfast The Little’s wanted a big bowl of grits while papa made him and I his “famous” egg sandwiches ( just not so much with The Little’s). After Miss Sky and I did the breakfast clean up we started circle time. Today we did our transition song , said our prayer, and sang only our pumpkin songs. It was time for Miss Sky’s spelling test and to write this weeks form drawing in her MLB. We then headed out to Sky’s drama class. Little Sis and I spent time reading some old favorites while we waited. Home again to start the fun. I thought today would be a good day to roast the first batch of pumpkin from the season.  Yum The Little’s love pumpkin and it’s actually really easy. I like to roast our pumpkins whole , it’s easier on the fingers too,  just cut a  hole  around the stem and remove like when carving a pumpkin. Place on a baking sheet with seeds and all, fill with 1/4 cup water and bake for 1 hour at 400 degrees or until fork tender. When done cut the pumpkin in half , scoop out the seeds , and the skin peels right off. I like to mash the pulp with a potato masher or you can puree in a blender. Wrap the pulp in 2 layers of cheese cloth and place in a strainer letting the liquid drain off. I place the strainer in a big bowl to collect the liquid to use later in soup. There is a lot of water in pumpkin so this step will take awhile. I 5 lb pie pumpkin will fill around 2  15oz size mason jars. The pulp also freezes really well. So in honor of our roasting pumpkins The Little’s thought we should make some pumpkin sugar cookies childrens museum 405While the cookies cooled I read The stories A Whole Heart and House On The Roof from the book The Family Treasury Of Jewish Holidays. We played a few rounds of the co-op game Harvest Time while we enjoyed our snack.childrens museum 414

Yes it was just what I needed to bring a little sunshine my way.

childrens museum 415

Wishing everyone a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

