Our First Fire of The Season

This morning I awoke to the site of an old friend. Papa had started a fire early this morning. The warmth of the fire welcomed me a little easier out of bed today even if  it was another day without sunshine. We have yet to turn on our heat. Doubling up on blankets and wearing long sleeves around the house has been tolerable up till now. The heat from the flash fire was just what was needed to take the chill off. For breakfast this morning I made what I call “hash” I have been trying to use up the last of the pepper crop so I fried potatoes with, jalapeno, banana , and green peppers, onions, garlic, and scrambled eggs ,topped with shredded cheese and breakfast was served. It’s funny because this year we had peppers coming out of our ears compared to last year but not enough of a tomato crop this year for me to can salsa. After morning clean up we lit our candle and started circle time. I have to say that the improvisation of Old McDonald had a farm is getting rather silly but I can’t help but laugh at what animals Little’s Sis has so eagerly thought up to imitate. We ended with our penny whistle lesson. I think I might finally be ready to move on to the next lesson. I continued working with the 4 processes during beanbag. Miss Sky came up with her summary for main lesson and I wrote it out on the board for her to copy http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4012773027/. I stole the idea of lining Miss Sky’s lesson book  with block crayons from Mama Acorn’s blog ( thanks for the tip). I am very surprised with what Miss Sky has taken from this story. After her puppet show yesterday then talking about the story today she keeps mentioning how God didn’t want people to stay together and become wicked again like before he flooded the world.  So he changed everyone’s language to scatter them. I never mentioned any part of the flood in my telling of the story except that Nimrod was Noah’s great grand son. Little Sis has been working hard in her MLB too http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4012778699/. Little Sis is free to do what she wants in the schoolroom and likes to copy like sissy. She all of a sudden has started to *really *copy. We don’t try to make a big deal of it and she goes off to play after a while. I then gave Miss Sky her  practice spelling test and she only missed putting the e at the end of before. She wrote the word out twice. I told Miss Sky rule number 3 to making nouns plural. Words ending with y you drop the y and add an i (es). She drew her picture in her MLB http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4013546420/. We looked up the rest of her vocabulary words and practiced her form in the air and on the board. We finished up the lesson with our water color painting of the heavens. Nimrod wanted the tower to reach the heavens so we worked using just blue paint http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4013547048/. We took our hour break. I made pita pizzas for lunch and wrapped up with storytime. I read more of Pleasant Fieldmouse and Miss Sky read The White Stallion by Elizabeth Shub. Tomorrow is a very special day. Miss Sky will be 9 years old. Wishing everyone a great day.

2 Responses to “Our First Fire of The Season”

  1. MamaAcorn Says:

    Happy Birthday Miss Sky! Love the paintings!

  2. Kara Says:

    Happy Birthday, Sky!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

