Scavenger Hunt

The weather here has become unseasonably warm these last few days. There was no way I could let the warmth get away from us so I threw this weeks plans out the window to pick up next week. After basking the weekend in the sunshine I awoke this morning refreshed and ready to take on the day.  After yoga I sat in meditation running todays plans through my mind. I came up with an all new schedule last night and wanted to make sure it flowed properly.When finished  I woke up the house and started breakfast while the Little’s dressed for the day and worked on their chores. Today I made pumpkin pancakes with bacon. These were a *huge* hit with the Little’s. I found the recipe here http://makeitfromscratch.blogspot.com/2009/10/spiced-pumpkin-pancakes.html. Only I substituted 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and used 1/4 cup maple syrup in place of the sugar. After Miss Sky helped with breakfast clean up we started circle time. Today we just sang our morning songs , our leaf fingerplays, and worked on our Martinmas songs. Then I unleashed the surprise to the Little’s. We were going on a scavenger hunt. We all loaded up and headed to the woods. When we got there I told everybody what we were hunting for. Each one of us had to find an acorn with cap,  pinecones, skinny twigs, and 3 leaves different colors. We will be using these for a craft project later in the week. Off we went it was everyone for themselves.childrens museum 577

We searched far and wide and found each thing on the list.  It was time to go home with our new treasures and to fill our empty fuel tanks. I warmed up left over beef stew and enjoyed the smell of earth The little’s brought home with them. Today for main lesson I told the story of The Golden Lantern. http://www.waldorflibrary.org/Journal_Articles/GW3808.pdf  Then we painted our picture for what will be our lanterns. http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4091269914/

No spelling , vocabulary, or grammar this week due to the festival.

Happy Monday

One Response to “Scavenger Hunt”

  1. mamaacorn Says:

    What beautiful paintings! I’m sure they’ll make wonderful lanterns!

Leave a Reply

