Feasting

Today we finished up our 2 fibers week. I started the day with my usual quiet time running the day through my mind then got busy on breakfast making bacon, eggs, and  bread I made from the cushaw squash I roasted yesterday. After breakfast I shredded the pot roast I cooked overnight in the crock pot and put all the ingredients together to simmer for BBQ sandwiches that would be ready for lunchtime.http://www.recipezaar.com/John-Maddens-Bbq-Beef-Sandwiches-101737 The only difference I use 1 TBS molasses and 2 TBS honey in place of sugar. After morning clean up we started circle time . No penny whistle or beanbag today. Then Miss Sky took her spelling test and wrote this weeks form in her MLB. Yesterday Miss Sky put on a puppet show telling back the story of How Flax Came To Man and she drew her picture in her MLB. Today she told me the steps to turn flax into linen and I wrote it on the board for her to copy. http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4121035180/ 

It was time to get our hands messy. After much brainstorming the Little’s decided it was time to get ready for the up coming holiday festivities with an old favorite http://www.recipezaar.com/Mexican-Wedding-Cookies-148688.

Since these take awhile to bake I read another old holiday favorite An Old Fashioned Thanksgiving by Louisa May Alcott. This of course always ends with me having  a “Little ” pretend feast of my own.

Old Fashioned Thanksgiving Cover

After much thought on how to bring next weeks lesson I finally chose to bring Thanksgiving from the Native Americans point of view. I will tell the story I found on page 6 http://www.waldorflibrary.org/Clearing%20House/Spring%201978b.pdf. Then use this to lead us into How We Came To Be In This Room.

Wishing everyone a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

