Counting My Blessings

The count down has officially started here in our home. Yes soon the house will be filled with the delicious tastes and smells associated with Thanksgiving. Well I for one can’t wait. We  most definitely have  so much to be thankful for this year. During my meditation and prayer time this morning I took the time to really count my blessings. I find that when I start naming everything I am grateful for, all those little inconveniences don’t seem like such a big deal anymore. After my prayer of gratitude I started breakfast making pancakes with sausage. I prepared the hamburger soup that would later be our lunch. Miss Sky and I took care of our morning chores and while I hung the sheets out to dry I was thankful to have the smell of  air freshened sheets at least once more this year. I sang our transition song calling the Little’s to gather for circle time and we stuck with the same line up as last week.  We started lesson number 5 with our penny whistles and threw the beanbag back and forth practicing Miss Sky’s times tables. Today for main lesson I told the story of How The World Was Made a creation story from the Iroquois. Then gave Miss Sky her spelling words for the week.

chief

winter

beaver

muskrat

turtle

loon

daughter

float

toward

beneath

island

swan

spirit

thankful

native

We marched out the spelling of each word then Miss Sky wrote them twice each in her MLB. Today for grammar I taught Miss Sky what a vigorous verb was by telling the story of Active Anna. http://www.kyrene.org/schools/brisas/sunda/verb/1action.htm  She then drew her picture in her MLB. http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4128849395/. I gave Miss Sky her new form for the week and tied it into the story of Chief Lawenio creating the clouds in the sky. I combined handwork and crafts today by using the materials we found on our scavenger hunt a couple weeks ago making pine cone people.

Little Sis invited them to tea at faeries house during our lunch break.

Where she said they were very happy. For storytime today Miss Sky read Small Wolf  by Nathaniel Benchley and I read The Thanksgiving Story by Alice Dalgliesh. We wrapped up our day by starting a thankful jar which we will add our many blessings to the rest of the week.

    The Thanksgiving Story Cover

Wishing everyone peace and joy this holiday week.

3 Responses to “Counting My Blessings”

  1. Tonya Says:

    Thank you for sharing your lessons. I am working hard to use more waldorf inspired lessons with my children and with six – it is often challenging, but this is so very helpful. Thank you.

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      That’s why I started my blog. I have been blessed by so many others I just want to pass those blessings on. Thanks for stopping by. Wishing your beautiful homesteading family a very Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. St Martin, Wears A Warm Red Cloak « Our Journey 'Round the Mulberry Bush Says:

    […] this years family project we have brought back the blessing jar but this time, starting this week till the week of Thanksgiving, we will be exchanging the gems for […]

Leave a Reply

