Oat, Groat

I have enjoyed reading other peoples blog posts  lately about signing up to make one small change a month until earth day. Though I did not sign up ,our family is always making small changes to do our part as stewards of the earth. I just wanted to add even though it has taken us awhile we have finally downsized our trash to less than 1 bag a week. Between recycling , composting, and not buying products that can’t be recycled our work is finally paying off. I am now working on finding toothbrushes and razors that can be recycled and not added to the growing landfill problem. I welcome any product recommendations. As for school today, we spent another busy day in the kitchen. This morning for breakfast we enjoyed left over rice pudding. After clean up I called The Little’s to circle and we just said prayer and our morning songs along with singing The Mulberry Bush song then got started on todays lesson. Today was all about oats. I have to say I am really enjoying this weeks lessons. Like the fibers study I find myself surprised at all that nature provides for us, and again find myself scratching my head about why we needed to add more. First Miss Sky and I talked about the differences in oats.

This time Little Sis wanted to join in (she heard we were making cookies). I will be honest and say that the Little’s like steel-cut oats better than rolled oats. I think it is a texture thing anyway we got to work on making oatmeal cookies with the steel-cut oats. http://www.hodgsonmill.com/opld-fashioned-oatmeal-cookies/ These are, next to gingerbread cookies, one of the Little’s favorites.

They are also great for a quick breakfast the next day. Something else that makes a quick breakfast is granola (recipe from Feeding The Whole Family).

We do not buy boxed cereal so to the Little’s this is a real treat and doesn’t stay around for long. While the granola baked I wrote a few math problems on the board for Miss Sky to copy and solve then she made a page in her MLB about oats. http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4289832176/ we worked on her memory verses and she practiced her cursive letters in cornmeal. We made pita pizzas for today’s lunch where Miss Sky informed me I was the most fun teacher ever (let’s she if she still thinks so in a couple of years). We wrapped up the day with Miss Sky finishing A Grain Of Rice. She liked this book so much she read it all again while I fixed dinner and I read The New Clothes Fail from Understood Betsy.

Many Blessings to all

One Response to “Oat, Groat”

  1. mamaacorn Says:

    Everything looks so good! Thank you for the recipe link for the cookies!

Leave a Reply

