60 Minutes In One Hour

I have to say one thing about not watching television or listening to the news you never really know what the weather might bring. This morning when we got up the ground was dry , then the surprise of really big, and beautiful snowflakes. Now we have about 4 inches of snow on the ground and it is still coming down. I guess it is just a reminder that King Winter is still hanging around. Last night before I went to bed I put some steel-cut oats in the crock pot to be ready for breakfast this morning. http://www.recipezaar.com/Best-Steel-Oats-Crock-Pot-Recipe-198509 It was so nice to wake up to breakfast already made and it really hit the spot. I made some chilli to simmer on the stove for today’s lunch and kicked back with my cup of chai tea and watched the snowflakes fall while the house was still asleep. After breakfast clean up I called The Little’s to circle using the same circle as Monday. The Little’s have walked around singing Skinna-marinky dinky dink all week ,last night I carried the song into my sleep.

We continued with lesson 11 on our penny whistle. Miss Sky has the answers to the 3 times tables memorized both forwards and backwards so now we are working on putting them to the equation. We have a little clapping game she likes to play we clap right hands together then left hands while saying 3×1 is, then bow to each other while saying 3. We repeat all the way to 3×12 is 36. Papa had some math problems for her to solve using carrying and borrowing.

Today for main lesson Miss Sky and I talked about the minute hand. Now that she has her 5 times tables memorized she caught on really quick. I found a practice clock for $1 and I had Miss Sky practice telling time . She made a page in her MLB . http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4333048939/

I used her poem to practice the parts of speech by circling the nouns, underlining the verbs, putting a box around the adjectives. I also used the punctuation mark to explain exclamation marks. She copied the poem about exclamation marks in her MLB.

She finished copying her memory verse today and she practiced writing small words with her letters in cursive on the board like quick, ran, her name, and two.

We finished up the day sewing in front of the fire while Miss Sky read chapter 5 of The Year Of The Panda and I read chapters 1 &2 of Naya Nuki by Kenneth Thomasma. The end of the month is when we go to the maple syrup festival so I thought I would use that to transition into a Native American block.

Wishing everyone a safe and happy weekend.

Leave a Reply

