There’s A Neat Little Clock

Well I have found myself uninspired in the kitchen this week , and breakfasts seem to be a bit boring. Last night I pulled a loaf of pumpkin bread out of the freezer for breakfast this morning but I am really missing the fresh fruits of summer. I can only eat so many grapefruits and oranges. Even my favorite winter fruit salad of oranges, pineapple, bananas, and walnuts with a sprinkle of coconut isn’t hitting the spot. I have even found myself looking forward to spring cleaning. Since breakfast was already made this morning I went ahead and started my spaghetti sauce and meatballs in the crock pot. I also started my french bread to go along with today’s and tomorrows lunch.

After clean up I called The Little’s to circle and I ran down Monday’s list of verses and songs. We continued working on lesson 11 with our penny whistle’s and Miss Sky tried to stump me with different notes, and a few times she did. We played a game like simon on our penny whistle’s Miss Sky would start with a note and I would try to match the note then she would add-on a different note each time until Mama messed up. We worked on the 3 times table during beanbag like in Monday’s post.

For main lesson today I copied the Mother Goose rhyme The Clock on the board for Miss Sky to copy in her MLB. http://dltk-kids.com/rhymes/mothergoose/mothergoose-theclock.htm I like the little craft that went along with the poem but Papa and Miss Sky are working on making her own clock. They will wood burn the numbers in tomorrow. We worked with her practice clock while I asked her questions like “If it is 3 A.M. now what time will it be in 5 hours ?” Then Miss Sky made a clock with the 2 times table in her MLB and she practiced on her multiplication clock. http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4344349691/

Here is a great video that shows you how to make one of these http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBbLhUbAopc&feature=related and here is a great video on how to do this on the chalk board . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FuMUm5JBJc4&feature=channel_page

Grammar today we talked about the comma and she copied the poem in her MLB. Then I had her circle, underline, and box the nouns, verbs, and adjectives.

We worked more on her memory verse and she practiced her cursive letters in cornmeal.

After lunch Miss Sky finished The Year Of The Panda and I read chapters 7 & 8 of Naya Nuki.

Peace

Leave a Reply

