Way Up High In The Winter Sky

Well I guess King Winter is going to stick around awhile longer as he unleashed the Snow Ponies (Little’s new winter story)on us again. I am not really sure how much snow we now have but it is *a lot*. On the bright side we had a beautiful weekend full of sunshine and I soaked up every inch of it. This morning I made walnut chocolate chip  banana mini muffins for breakfast http://www.recipezaar.com/Whole-Wheat-Honey-Banana-Muffins-115432. These are another “Little’s” hit. I half the recipe adding chopped walnuts and mini chocolate chips and bake in mini muffin tins. While these baked ,I came up with an all new circle for the week. I was going to start focusing on springs soon arrival but thought  it would be a little hard  to do while snow is falling heavily outside. I also made my pizza dough to rise and be ready for today’s lunch. Yesterday I found another great fingerplay site and used some of the verses for today’s circle. http://w3.gorge.net/cannon/musical.html I also found the link that explains the 7 grains in great detail that I wanted to post with that block but couldn’t find at the time. http://www.alchemycalpages.com/7grains.html After morning chores I called The Little’s to circle using this weeks list.

We’ll All Join In A Circle

Family Prayer

Sing Fire Fairies and light candle http://astorytellingofcrows.blogspot.com/2009/12/fire-fairy-song.html

Good Morning Dear Earth

Buenos Dias

I Can Turn Myself

Circle March

I Wake Myself

Chip Chop

Lovely Things (eye tracking poem)

Build A Home

Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes

Snowing fingerplay

Winter Wonderland

Chubby Little Snowman fingerplay

I’m A Little Penguin fingerplay

Skinna-marinky Dinky Dink (Little’s choice)

We started lesson 12 with our penny whistles and this resulted in a story of Owl Moon by Jane Yolen for bedtime tonight. We transitioned into beanbag with Crick Crack Snippy Snap and marched out the 4 times table. We started by counting each step 1,2,3 quietly then we clap and say 4 out loud at the same time then continue with 5,6,7, and clap while saying 8 and so on till we reach 48. We tossed the beanbag while counting by 3s forward to 36 then backwards and I tossed the beanbag to Miss Sky saying 18 and she tosses it back saying  3×6.

Last week Friday Miss Sky finished her times table clocks for 10 & 11. http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4352001883/  http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4352002571/  Finishing our math block and she picked up on the pattern how the 1s and 11s make the same shape. This week we are finishing up our shelters block that I didn’t do in December. https://dkjsv05.wordpress.com/2009/11/27/shelters-of-the-soul/ We started with a little review of what we had done while Miss Sky looked at her MLB and talking about the Wampanoag’s wetu.  I unveiled this weeks chalkboard drawing.

 (Sorry trying to figure out how to fix the glare) I read the book North American Indians by Marie and Douglas Gorsline and today we talked about the Iroquois long houses staying in the NorthEast. Miss Sky made a page in her MLB http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4361360378/.

Next I had Miss Sky circle , underline, or box the nouns, verbs, and adjectives from her copy work on the board for grammar and she practiced her memory verse while marching in place. Then she practiced the capital letters Y and Z in cursive first in the air, on each other’s backs , then on the board.

Miss Sky finished Junie B. Jones over the weekend and today after lunch  she read chapter 1 of Lewis And Clark And Me A Dog’s Tale by Laurie Myers and I finished Naya Nuki. Again Miss Sky loved this book and I think it fits in perfect with the 9 year change even though Naya Nuki was 11.

          

Wishing everyone a happy( non snowy) Monday.

Leave a Reply

