A Whole Lot Of Shaking Going On

Well the first robin has been spotted and this morning we woke up to Chips the woodpecker’s rat-a-tat-tatting . Spring is really on its way. I hung the sheets out to dry today and I can’t wait to fall asleep tonight surrounded by the smell of “fresh” linen. This morning I made bread pudding for breakfast and planned on pita pizza for lunch so clean up wasn’t to bad today . We had our circle, penny whistle, beanbag and today for main lesson Miss Sky copied the Peter Piper tongue twister in her MLB practicing her cursive writing . http://www.flickr.com/photos/24734949@N04/4439772568/ Today we broke down the liquid parts of measurements starting with a bushel. Then we figured out what a bushel and a peck was and sang the song again using gallons in place of the words bushel and peck. Miss Sky figured out how many gallons of pickled peppers Peter Piper Picked and we moved into the kitchen for the rest of our measuring. It was time for my pioneer family to milk the cow and make butter. First we had to see how many cups of milk a gallon holds. We filled an empty gallon with water and Miss Sky broke how many quarts, pints, and cups a gallon holds and wrote it down in her MLB. I would say this was her favorite part of the day playing with all the water (she loves the water) but she loved making butter more.

Since we get our milk fresh from the farm it still has the cream that settles at the top. I poured this off in a glass jar , measuring out 1 and 1/2 cups of cream.  I added a marble to the jar ,turned on Greg and Steve’s Kids in Action Cd, and The Little’s bopped until they dropped while shaking the jar.

(Poor Harvey he didn’t know what was going on) Four songs later we had butter.

Miss Sky informed me I needed to add grated carrot to give it more a yellow color since we our using winter milk but it tasted delicious all the same. She also informed me we should make our own butter more often. I guess I will just have to make biscuits tomorrow for breakfast using the buttermilk. 1 and 1/2 cups of cream gave us 1/4 cup of butter and 1 cup buttermilk. Miss Sky figured out if there is 16 cups in a gallon of milk we have 14 and 1/2 cups milk still left.

Miss Sky alphabetized her spelling words and read chapters 3 &4 of the Third Grade Detectives and I read chapters 9 & 10 of Om-kas-toe.

Wishing everyone a Happy St. Patrick’s Day !

2 Responses to “A Whole Lot Of Shaking Going On”

  1. mamaacorn Says:

    We love making butter here too, though it’s been awhile.

    Residual buttermilk, leftover liquid from making butter, and cultured buttermilk are different. I tried making buttermilk pancakes from our residual buttermilk and the pancakes were flat. When I used cultured buttermilk in the same recipe, I get super fluffy pancakes. We ate them either way. I imagine the same might happen with biscuits as well.

    Happy St. patrick’s Day to you too!

Leave a Reply

