A Coat Of Many Colours

Oh Monday’s, time to get back to the grind stone. For us it is time to finish up our Old Testament stories.  I have to say starting this blog has been such a blessing. I have enjoyed looking back over my outline I made at the beginning of the school year and being able to see how the year played out. I thought we would have been done with Old Testament by now but yet here we are picking up where we left off. My goodness as I look over some of the pictures I took from yesterday’s outing I have really noticed how much Miss Sky has grown since the start of the year physically, mentally, and spiritually. I am actually really glad how things played out this year as I feel she is much more prepared to hear the rest of these stories now.

This morning after meditating on the days flow I fixed waffles and bacon for breakfast. Saturday I made the dough for refrigerator dinner rolls and set them out to rise while I fixed breakfast. Then I prepared the pot roast for today’s lunch. The Little’s got dressed, made their bed ,sorted laundry and started the first load. After breakfast clean up I called The Little’s to circle. This weeks circle is

We’ll All Join In  A Circle

Prayer

Good Morning Dear Earth

I Can Turn Myself

I Wake Myself

Chip Chop

Lovely Things (Eye Tracking)

Raindrops fingerplay

Planting Time song http://www.preschooleducation.com/sgarden.shtml

The Seeds Grow

This Is The Way We Plant Our Seeds

Little Peter Rabbit  

Little Bunny Foo Foo

We started lesson 16 on our penny whistle and did a review of the times tables during beanbag. Then we stomped out the 6 table.

Today for main lesson I told the story of Joseph and unveiled my drawing. http://www.flickr.com/photos/18345185@N04/4516406400/

http://www.mainlesson.com/display.php?author=steedman&book=nurserybible&story=dreamer

http://www.mainlesson.com/display.php?author=steedman&book=nurserybible&story=ruler&PHPSESSID=76115a28c784fb9f55a311b463431e79

First we did a little review of the story of Jacob and Esau. I had ended the story with Jacob on the run from his brother and his dream of the ladder. I started today’s story with how Jacob was tricked into marrying the wrong girl he did not love and ended up with 2 wives ,then went into the above stories. Next I gave Miss Sky this weeks spelling list.

tenderness

colours

clever

journey

memory

dream

possible

prison

governor

betrayed

fortune

sorrow

grace

innocence

servant

Miss Sky marched in place while we spelled out each word. We looked for the hidden words like g over n or then Miss Sky wrote them twice in her MLB.

I introduced Miss Sky to what an adverb was and she copied the adverb part of the poem she had started earlier in the year in cursive.

I gave Miss Sky this weeks form and tied it into the story of how Joseph saw many pyramids on his way to Egypt. http://www.millennialchild.com/Slideshows/Resources/Grade02FormDrawing_files/page26-1005-full.html We practiced it with our fingers first in the air then on each others back.

We finished the lesson up with modeling the silver cup with beeswax that was placed in Benjamin’s bag. http://www.flickr.com/photos/18345185@N04/4516407272/

After lunch Miss Sky read chapters 1 &2 of The Night Crossing by Karen Ackerman and I read to chapter 19 of Farmer Boy.

Wishing all a Happy Monday !!!

One Response to “A Coat Of Many Colours”

  1. mamaacorn Says:

    I definitely need to keep better records of the school year on my blog. I imagine that it will help me immensely when teaching the material for a second, third, and fourth time.

    I’ve also enjoyed the year and watching all the changes!

Leave a Reply

