Calling Nurse Nancy

Well Mama decided we needed a” break” this week. I feel that when things just don’t seem to be flowing properly it is time for me to check in and see why. Miss Sky has been very distracted with the weather and it has been a struggle to get through our lessons which have left me very frustrated. So to make a long story short I unplugged for a while  and focused on my inner work seeing if I could get to the root of the problem.  I have been pushing so hard to get third grade done in time for summer, school has no longer been fun to us. This week we brought our focus back to what we enjoyed most about our school day.

Starting with storytime, Little Sis has a new story in rotation. The Three Bears has been officially retired to the bookshelf now and Nurse Nancy has taken its place. This of course has created all new ideas for The Little’s play and it was only a matter of time before a request was made. That’s ok because we have been slacking in our handwork lately and a project was just what the doctor(nurse) ordered.

By the end of the year a third grader should be able to thread a needle and use a thimble, learn to knot the end, and back-stitch. They should be able to draw their own pattern ,trace around it and cut it out. Little Sis helped with the peel and stick felt and Miss Sky and I stitched away.

Now all I have to do is find some things to add in their bags before they use up all the bandages.

In other storytime news, we finished Little House on the Prairie and Miss Sky started reading The Little’s 🙂 by John Peterson.

We will be taking a break from the prairie to read The Wizard of OZ by L. Frank Baum inspired by the play we saw mother’s day.

    

Blessings

One Response to “Calling Nurse Nancy”

  1. gardener Says:

    I enjoyed reading your earlier posts. I hope you pick up the blog again soon. I have blog about home gardening too. Here is my last post:
    http://www.forgardener.com/gardener-talk-about-the-mulberry-tree/

Leave a Reply

