Lessons, Thrifting, and Videos

Well It sure has been a full week and we have just reached the middle of the road. Our lesson block on measurement kicked off with me explaining to Miss Sky how “Man is the measure of all things”, and I unveiled my chalkboard drawing. http://www.flickr.com/photos/18345185@N04/4636874039/

First starting with Old Testament measurement each of us traced our cubit, span, and foot on a piece of paper. We cut them out then went around the house measuring different items and writing down our measurements. It did not take Miss Sky very long  to realize our measurements were different because I was bigger than her. This led  to me explaining how the Pharaoh of Egypt came up with the royal cubit to be the standard measurement for his land and I just happened to have a royal cubit scepter. Miss Sky went around the house measuring different items with the royal cubit.

She made a page in her MLB. http://www.flickr.com/photos/18345185@N04/4636874945/ 

We did the same thing with our span. For handwriting practice I had Miss Sky copy both the Egyptian golden rule and the Hebrew’s. http://www.flickr.com/photos/18345185@N04/4639830215/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/18345185@N04/4639829197/

I found it very interesting when researching the golden rule , I did not realize that a translation can be found in the majority of all religious scripts.

 Miss Sky is working on memorizing We Have A Little Garden by Beatrix Potter for her end of the year memory work. http://www.dltk-kids.com/crafts/miscellaneous/mpotter-littlegarden.htm

We also did the experiment to see if our body was the same length as our arm span.

Using a piece of string we measured out our arm length then cut it and measured our height. We found out that it is true each of our measurements turned out to be the same height as our arm span. I explained how in pioneer times if people knew how tall they were they could measure how big an item was with their arm length.

We were hoping to measure the ark out today but instead decided to go thrift shopping for some of Miss Sky’s books. It never turns out to be a wasted trip. I always find some real jewels and today was no exception.

The Little’s being way to excited by their new finds we settled for just storytime leaving more time to play in their new attire.

Miss Sky finished The Littles to the Rescue and today read The Biggest Bear by Lynd Ward. I read to chapter 12 of On The Banks Of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

     

As for myself I spent way to much time on YouTube diving into past videos of Pink Floyd, Queen , and The Beatles which brought me to this video.

<a href=”“>

We Miss you Aunt Laura 🙂

Peace

3 Responses to “Lessons, Thrifting, and Videos”

  1. crystal Says:

    thanks for the sweet comment! i just found your blog yesterday and i am so inspired! what an amazing job you’re doing, mama. you sure have some lucky littles 🙂 i’ll be doing 3rd grade next year and i know i’ll be referring to your blog often for wonderful ideas and insight. ~many blessings

  2. crystal Says:

    ps
    just out of curiosity, how did you find my blog?

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      A link to your blog came through on my dashboard. I sometimes like to take a peak who has been reading. I have found some wonderful blogs that way. Glad anything I ‘ve posted can be helpful.

      Sending warm wishes for your up coming school year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

