I’m Back

First I want to say thank you for all the positive thoughts and prayers. I also want to thank Tonya from Plain and Joyful living for taking the time to share their families journey with all. http://plainandjoyfulliving.blogspot.com/2010/01/our-journey-part-1.html It has been so inspirational for me this week.

There for a while I allowed myself to wallow in self-pity then I remembered something ,that I am a choleric child of God. My faith and temperament will not allow me to go down without a fight alone.

Some amazing things have happened to our family this week that could only be the hand of God and though I am a little (what the heck A LOT) frightened I know everything is going to be alright.

Well what have we been up to this last week.  We took a few days off as my head and heart was just not that into the lesson, and the Little’s and I  spent a lot of time out in our garden. We should have some fresh veggies on our table very soon. All of us are waiting in anticipation to bite into that first juicy sweet tomato.

I introduced the ruler to Miss Sky and talked about how the Greeks came up with what we now know to be the foot. We spent lots of time measuring out different objects and Miss Sky made a page in her MLB. http://www.flickr.com/photos/18345185@N04/4647709789/

Then our pioneer family fixed biscuits for breakfast and I taught Miss Sky how to make them. I love the recipe from The Tassajara Bread Book and without wanting to break any copyright rules I thought it would be ok to post what I think is the secret to  fluffy biscuits, adding eggs to the dough. Miss Sky measured out all the ingredients and added the cut up pieces of butter. I taught her how to use a pastry blender.

She cracked the eggs and kneaded the dough. Next she measured to make sure the dough was rolled out about a half-inch thick.

She cut them out 

and biscuits is the next recipe she added to her cookbook.

Meanwhile there has been lots of time spent out in Papa’s “workshop” as he took over as teacher.

And I look for some exciting new things to happen.

After all two heads are better than one ;).

Peace

One Response to “I’m Back”

  1. mamaacorn Says:

    Nice to have you back!

    I love it when papa gets involve with homeschooling! What a wonderful little truck they made together!

Leave a Reply

