4th Grade Math

I will say up front that we are behind in math. It is not one of Miss Sky’s strong points though I have seen a HUGE improvement this past year. So we will be playing catch up this year with our first block starting where we left off with square numbers , area, and finish memorizing those times tables.

That being said what is usually covered in 4th grade math is fractions, factoring, prime numbers, and long division. http://www.whws.org/newsite/Documents/Curriculum.pdf

I plan on 3 blocks, the first one starting after our human & animal block and if all goes well this will take us into our Christmas break.

I plan on starting our first Norse Myth block at the start of the new year and think that would be a good place to introduce fractions. Since working in the kitchen proved to be such a success for third grade I do plan on bringing our math work back into the kitchen maybe this time pretending we are vikings.

Well as for resources I am still sticking with Family Math by Jean Kerr Stenmark, Virginia Thompson, and Ruth Cossey. It is filled with tons of games and ideas to teach your child math.

I think this year I will start giving Miss Sky worksheets in a folder or have problems wrote on the board for her to copy throughout the year. http://themathworksheetsite.com/

Here is a great refresh for myself on fractions http://www.visualfractions.com/worksheets/compare.pdf

http://www.visualfractions.com/

I will be honest here fractions were not my favorite subject and I do not know how I would have made it through without the help of my grandfather. I am hoping it will all come back to me you know” like riding a bike”. I guess all we can do is wait and see.

Well this leaves only 3 more language art blocks to plan out and I can enjoy the rest of “my”summer vacation.

3 Responses to “4th Grade Math”

  1. mamaacorn Says:

    So impressed by all of your plans! I’m just now getting started and so enjoying your posts!

  2. Sally Says:

    I agree – I just love when it pop up that you’ve added another post ! Thank you for sharing your resources! I am particularly interested in Family math. For years I have toyed with getting it….

  3. dkjsv05 Says:

    Thanks guys,

    Sally I will say when I first bought Family Math I was like oh this is it, how can I use this? I am SO glad I got it, I think it was worth every penny and it might still be for sale used at Powell’s.You look at what is taught each year for math and find what games and such you want to teach with your lesson. I have seen a lot of light bulb moments with this book.

    Can’t wait to follow along with you guys again this year!!!

Leave a Reply

