Non-Navigable Waterways

I seriously can not believe we have had a couple of flash fires already in our wood burning stove when the season has just begun. I was beginning to worry the drop in temps would put a damper in our plans this week . I did not plan in my outline for it to cool down so soon, I mean I hadn’t even brought out the winter clothes yet. Well we decided ,being the naturist that we are ;), to brave the cold and go ahead with our planned adventures anyway.

Our city has many non-navigable waterways, one being across our street, and I wanted to see just where these waterways went. After finding a map through google on-line I found out which creek joins our creek and that it empties into the White River. There is really only one way to map out a creek so we bundled up and headed out to follow just where our creek goes. I found out where our creek starts and it is on a whole other side of Indy so we picked it up where it meets our city and made sure not to go on private property.This proved to be a very exciting trip with many sites to see. We took along our compass and The Little’s had their backpacks where we picked up leaves (to use later) and anything else that we could place on our nature table. With all the twists and turns in the woods and out again, up hills and  across rocks we quickly became very warm. We stopped long enough to find crawdads and even spotted a hawk as well as some mallard ducks.We  finally came to a part that we could no longer follow and stayed to observe which way we thought it continued.On the way home we drove around our city while Miss Sky took notes of where the library, hospital, city hall, and post office was.

Once home Miss Sky helped me map out how to get to those places from our house on the board. Then we added the parts of the creek we explored to the map.

Next it was time to put the fallen leaves we had picked up to use.We will cut our tracings out to use as decorations around our schoolroom. We also made drawings of the things we found and spotted on our adventures in our nature notebooks. I myself love love love to research our findings especially when it tells a story of history. Hedge apples come from Osage orange trees which Roosevelt used for The Great Plains Shelterbelt during the dust bowl, and this just happens to be a time period I am studying right now (Steinbeck is one of my favorite authors).

I gave Miss Sky this weeks spelling words.

woodland

railroad

Churchman

population

hospital

railway

resident

waterway

farmland

creek

rural

canal

river

lake

stream

dairy

interstate

territory

We marched them out and Miss Sky printed them once and wrote them in cursive once.

We finished with Miss Sky reading to chapter 10 of the Little’s and I read to chapter 8 of The Bears of Blue River which Miss Sky replied “is there any more to this story than hunting bears?” I just had to laugh, she asked “don’t they ever just live?” I don’t think we will be adding any more of Charles Major’s books to our library :).

Wishing everyone a wonderful start to the week !

Leave a Reply

