The Littlest Pumpkin

Well it has come to my attention that somethings been missing in our homeschool routine this year. “Mommy, I thought I was in kindergarten this year?” yes you are, “then when are we going to do my main lesson?” OK she is getting way to perceptive.

SO in honor of Little Sis ,after Miss Sky took her spelling test , today we had Little Sis’s first main lesson.

We started with circle then we welcomed autumn in with a telling of the story The Littlest Pumpkin by Christine Natale ( I really hope she writes a book soon, she is a very talented writer). This story quickly became a favorite of The Little’s last year. (Update: You can find it in Mrs. Marsha’s Waldorf Home Educators yahoo group message # 13577.)

Next we moved to the kitchen for crafts (something else I have been told that is missing in our routine) to go along with Little Sis’s main lesson. First we headed outside to hunt for sticks, leaves, acorns, and acorn caps to use in today’s project.Earlier Papa drilled holes in the sides of the little wooden peg people so we could use pipe cleaners for arms. He also drilled holes in a branch he cut for us to use as the trunk of our tree. We used embroidery floss for the hair and glued acorn caps on for hats. While this dried we painted our acorns to make “the littlest pumpkin” and glued our leaves to the sticks we found.

I had cut out a pattern to use for our fairies dresses and Miss Sky cut out and sewed the felt together. We glued more leaves on for their wings and we were done.I think they turned out cute and Little Sis thinks she is really going to like kindergarten. Boy I sure hope I don’t let her down ;).

Yesterday Miss Sky finished her book The Little’s and I finished The Bears of Blue River which is good because we are really excited to start our new fall story The Witch Family by Eleanor Estes.

Wishing everyone a wonderful weekend!

5 Responses to “The Littlest Pumpkin”

  1. renee ~ heirloom seasons Says:

    How sweet, your little kindergarten one. My littlest has been very busy with her drawings while big sister and I do lesson work. But guess what she is drawing.. squirrels, gathering apples and acorns, like for math!
    And guess what I was doing all morning… sewing! Coming along nicely, I will write to you soon…
    Oh, and I also wanted to let you know that Heather at Shivaya Naturals posted a gluten-free apple cake recipe, adapted form the recipe in The Apple Cake.
    Hope all is well 🙂

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Oh Thank You Renee for the link, The Apple Cake is one of “our” most favorite books.

      Our little ones are growing much to fast.

  2. heather Says:

    I was wondering where I could find the story The Littlest Pumpkin. Thanks

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Hello Heather,
      I do not know if you are a member of Marsha’s Waldorf home educators yahoo group yet? If you already are you can find the story in past messages by putting in number 13555 where it says message # (go) on the message page (On the left under home by the files). If you are not I have a link under Waldorf (on the right) that should take you there so you can become a member.

      I hope that makes sense 🙂

      Maybe one day Christine Natale will but all her wonderful stories together in a book,we love them. (fingers crossed)

      Blessings,
      Kim

      • heather Says:

        thanks for the link, I am a member but I always for get to look there! Also, I enjoyed your latest post (misery loves company) we put so much pressure on ourselves to have these perfect flowing school days…boy-oh-boy have I had days like the one you described 🙂

Leave a Reply

