Indiana During The Ice Age

Well we have officially made it past 1 month of being gluten-free.  I wish I could say it’s been a piece of cake (ok really bad choice of words) but it hasn’t been. The funny thing is it’s not having to give up bread that is the hard part but it’s the making bread part that I miss SO much. I don’t really miss the taste of bread as much as I miss the smell of it baking in the oven. Then there are all the lovely photos on-line(*sigh*).

On the up side we are all feeling much more energized so I guess I will just have to get over it. I did have this same feeling when I gave up coffee. Though I still find myself needing to go down that row for something or other to take in a quick sniff. Maybe I need to find a local bakery that will not think of me as weird for just wanting to capture the scent :).

Looking back over past posts I am really pleased with how this block all came together. We still have 2 more “trips” planned in the works to visit the sand dunes way up north and the caverns way down south but they might just have to wait till next spring when the weather begins to turn warm again. I can’t believe after all the years I have lived here I’ve yet to see the great lakes. So that is most definitely on my to do list.

After our walk around the block today’s main lesson was all about the ice age. I explained to Miss Sky how glaciers carved out the land and when they began to melt they created the sand dunes, flat prairies, and the rolling hills that make up Indiana’s landscape. We talked about what we saw on our trip over the weekend. I drew an outline of Indiana on the board and divided it into 3 main land regions, the great lake plains, the till, plains, and the southern plains and lowlands. We talked about how different each one was and about the plains we live in. Miss Sky has taken notice to all the cornfields and soybeans we have growing around every corner and I explained that we lived in part of the corn belt which has excellent soil for farming.

We talked about how different the scenery looked the farther south we drive and explained how glaciers never made it that far so when they melted it formed the hills and caves that are carved out of limestone. On our hikes at Brown County State Park we have been able to observe much of the limestone there and even have brought some home for our nature table. Having fertile soil, mineral deposits, and abundant water is what makes our state such a great place to live.

Tomorrow I will talk about the indigenous people who lived in our state and how the great lakes and rivers played a big part in that. This site played a big help in my research.

Next I gave Miss Sky this weeks spelling list.

Indiana
Hoosier
Indianapolis
capital
peony
cardinal
limestone
fertile
mineral
glacier
Walbash
knobs
plains
caverns
soybeans
landforms
sand dunes
lowlands

We marched them out and Miss Sky copied them once in cursive and printed them once. We also looked for hidden words inside the words. This helps her to memorize them much quicker.

For form drawing Miss Sky practiced a metamorphosis form representing the different stages of the earth forming during the ice age. Miss Sky practiced first in the air with her right hand then her left.

We called it a day with Miss Sky reading to chapter 3  of Sunset of the Sabertooth by Mary Pope Osborne and I read the first 2 chapters of  The Witch Family by Eleanor Estes.

Wishing everyone a great week!

Leave a Reply

