Our Lantern Walk and Changes

Yesterday the Little’s decorated their lanterns as we prepared to meet with a small group of families to help celebrate Martinmas later that evening. We all gathered round the table as Danielle told the story of St. Martin before we broke bread and shared a meal and fellowship with one another. Then we headed out on our lantern walk under the stars.She has the perfect yard (and voice) to do a lantern walk, and we couldn’t have asked for better weather.

There was a positive energy in the air and though Papa thinks it was just dust (the only photo from the night that turned out this way) I think I captured it on film. 😉After our walk, we gathered round the fire for story time.It amazes me how quiet everyone gets (not a peep from any child) during the story, but Danielle is a very talented storyteller.

We had a lovely time and enjoyed meeting new friends but as they say, all things must come to an end.

Literally :(. I guess turning 10 brings on many changes, changes that this Mama is not ready for (not yet anyway). Well, I knew it was just a matter of time when my little girl would step out spread her wings of adolescence and start to become her own person.

Our family does have family movie night about 1 sometimes twice a month where we make homemade pizza (still trying to find a good gluten free crust recipe) and pop popcorn on top of the stove. Our favorites being Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation and Summer Magic where Miss Sky fell in love with Hayley Mills. So, of course, I had to share with her one of my favorite movies from childhood. I never thought it would backfire on me. Yep, it ‘s gone. The time has come, my little girl is growing up. All I can do now is hold on and enjoy the ride :).

Well, at least she does have good taste.

Wishing everyone a great weekend!

2 Responses to “Our Lantern Walk and Changes”

  1. Heatherlee Says:

    Have you tried Pamela’s Bread mix. There is a recipe on the side for pizza. That is the one we ended up liking. Plus, it was easy to keep the mixes around. I always bought them from amazon to get better pricing.

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Thanks Heather for the suggestion. We have tried Pamela’s products and we love the pancake mix. That is the crust we use now and it’s not bad but just not the same if you know what I mean. SO my expectations are a little high.

      And thanks for the amazon tip :).

      Blessings

Leave a Reply

