Thor and Sif

Oh it was SO nice to have 4 days off , no school no work just time spent together bringing in the holiday season. It was just the mini vacation I needed.

I have decided this will be our last week of Norse Mythology till after the New Year, instead we will be doing a handwork block while counting down the days till Christmas.

This year ,as I have said before, I decided to bring a more relaxed approach to our school year. I am tired of beating myself up trying to do everything in a school day. I find myself upset by the fact we are not doing enough handwork and even stressed at how other people find time to do all those lovely handwork projects I see on-line. Then it hit me why not do a handwork block like we do a math or language arts block? And what not a better time then over the holidays? Like this wonderful blog post “I am learning to let go” of what I think a Waldorf homeschool should look like.I hope to spend time during this block “decompressing” and really meditating on what is best for my family.

So with that being said today after our walk we started school with “movement” time. I am re-reading (for the 10th time) Beyond The Rainbow Bridge by Barbara J. Patterson and Pamela Bradley and realize how important this time is for Little Sis as she is now in the 5 to 7 year range and how her “life forces” are at work in her limbs. Here is this months line up:

Fairy Ring (gathering verse)

Good Morning Dear Earth

Five Little Christmas Trees (action Rhyme)

The First Christmas (Action Rhyme)

A Shining Star (Action Rhyme)

All three above can be found here .

Away In A Manger

Little Drummer Boy Which Miss Sky found (all on her own)the tune to play along on her penny whistle.

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star (last week for this one,to go with Little Sis’s main lesson)

This months memory poem The Time Draws Near by Alfred Lord Tennyson.

Today’s main lesson was all about Thor and Sif. Miss Sky came up with her summary and made her picture in her MLB.

pictures 1255

Next I gave her the last spelling list of the year. 🙂

observe

tidings

thought

memory

consume

knowledge

Aesir

Vanir

goddess

trumpet

purity

thunder

hammer

wield

destiny

We marched them out then she found the hidden words inside the words and copied them twice in her MLB, printed once and once in cursive.

For form drawing , getting my idea from here, (there are lots of form drawing ideas here under form drawing)I made a braided serpent to go with our story.

pictures 1254

She practiced it by tracing the form on the board with her right then left finger finding its rhythm.

For reading Miss Sky read chapter 1 of The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson and I read Christmas in the Big Woods from the Little House Christmas Treasury by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

Wishing everyone a happy Monday!

One Response to “Thor and Sif”

  1. MamaAcorn Says:

    Having a handwork block is genius! We’ve been seriously lacking in that department too.

Leave a Reply

