Favorite Grade Two Resources

Alrighty I promise no rants with this post :).

Second grade is fables, saints and legends, and a continuation of nature stories.

I will say your choice to do saints and legends can be a bit flexible ,it is really about bringing balance to the “trickster” tales and the character you are trying to instill. This probably will be different for everybody depending on your religious beliefs. So if you are Buddhist or Hindu you might  pick stories from there . Just keep in mind the time period (like 300 -1200 A.D. and such) people like Gandhi or MLK are to recent.

I broke these blocks down by having 1  saints and 1 legends and American tall tales . We  studied Mu Lan and Annie Oakley during this time too.

I also broke the fables down in to 1 block of  Jataka tales , 1 African fables, and 1 Aesop fables. We also did Peter and the Wolf.

Favorite readers for Miss Sky:

I have been collecting Arnold Lobel’s books for a while now , he is one of my favorites. So we have all his readers and they are all favorites. You can’t go wrong with any of them but if I had to choose then it would be The Frog and Toad collection and his book Fables is a great read aloud for this year. Okay I am really having  a hard time just picking one, Miss Sky says Mouse Soup and Mouse Tales. Little Sis says “no-no- no” Small Pig .

Others are The Little Bear collection by Else Holmelund Minark

The Carrot Seed by Crockett Johnson

I want to point out 95% of our books are used from thrift shops or come from our Half Price book store. With that being said here is a list of our favorite read alouds from second grade.

Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi

A Bear Called Paddinton by Michael Bond

The Winnie-The-Pooh collection by A.A. Milne (I still have mine from childhood)

The Original 4 Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books by Betty MacDonald

Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, Hello Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s Magic, and Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s Farm.

Doctor Dolittle and The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting

The Story About Ping by Marjorie Flack

And as for Miss Sky’s favorite author and most read story in our house, Mr Thornton W. Burgess and The Adventures of Reddy Fox. Oh yes Miss Sky has taken a liken to Mr. Sly and sneaky fox and she has been collecting all of the Old Mother West Wind tales. We love them here in our home.

As for me

I used this program along with Family Math for our math blocks and the resources I listed in the first grade post continue this year.

Updated : I forgot to mention School As A Journey by Torin Finser and Teaching As A Lively Art by Marjorie Spock. I love to read the chapter that has to do with the year I am preparing before I start my planning. These start with 1st grade and go all the way to 8th. Great resources.

Well that about sums up our second grade year hope this list comes in handy for anyone planning or doing second grade.

Wishing everyone a warm week !

2 Responses to “Favorite Grade Two Resources”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Thank you, Kim. We are big Arnold Lobel fans too.

    Blessings to you all for Christmas and New Year,
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

