Come And Meet The Letter People

Oh it feels good to be back planning again. I took advantage of these 12 holy nights to really meditate on how we are going to finish up the school year. Something I am going to try working hard on is not getting stressed out how much we get or don’t get done this year. I made a list of the good, the bad, and the ugly. What I liked about our school day, what I don’t like ,and what just has to go.

I have let go of the “Waldorf” title. It has always been my belief that Steiner gave us “his”theories on how children learn but in the end it was up to “us” the teacher how we bring it to the children. I never was one to purchase someones curriculum because to me that is “their” curriculum not mine. No one’s “Waldorf” will look the same, at least that’s what I thought.

When starting out on our homeschooling journey Waldorf education  just seemed to “fit” at the time in many ways. Miss Sky was the poster child for better late than early. She was late developing in everything , she didn’t even lose her first tooth until second grade. Not starting school until 7 years old would work for her.

Little Sis on the other hand well this child retains information that we don’t even know where she gets it from. I am sure some of you know what I am talking about. Waiting until she is 7 to start school is CRAZY. This is just who she is. I mean supposedly Waldorf education doesn’t believe in messing with one’s destiny or karma well wouldn’t I be doing that if I hold her back.

So if I start Little Sis in “school” how do I do this because I still believe the stories meet the child right where they are. I mean I’m not going to introduce WW II to her yet.

Well while in meditation it came to me. I started thinking about how I learned the alphabet in school. Oh yes I remember my Kindergarten teacher Mrs. England, she was THE best. I also remember looking forward to the new alphabet person that would be visiting our class that week. Do any of you remember The Letter People ? Well meet Miss A.

pictures 1344

I plan on introducing 1 letter a week and doing different activities throughout the week using that letter. Little Sis is making a book for each letter.

pictures 1345

I can not tell you how excited she is, she held onto her book all day.

pictures 1346

(Her handwriting)

I am working with the books Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Bill Jr Martin and Dr. Seuss’s ABC (because I like Dr. Seuss) and have a letter book basket each week. *(updated)* I forgot to mention we are using this workbook to help practice letter writing. This however is not necessary it just happens Little Sis enjoys workbooks.

In this weeks book basket

Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish

Berenstains’ A Book by Stan and Jan Berenstain

Arthur’s Honey Bear by Lillian Hoban

Animal Orchestra by llo Orleans

The Apple Cake by Nienke van Hictum

The Apple Pie that Papa Baked by Lauren Thompson

Since Miss Sky and I are doing a handwork block, today’s letter activity was the letter A sewing card for Little Sis to practice her sewing skills too.

pictures 1350

It is made from poster board.

As for Miss Sky she learned how to sew on a button

pictures 1348

and made a needle book for her “new” sewing kit.

pictures 1349

We are continuing our audio book and Miss Sky is reading Sheepdog in the Snow by Ben M. Baglio.

Wishing every one a great day !

4 Responses to “Come And Meet The Letter People”

  1. mamaacorn Says:

    We’re doing a letter a week here too starting next week! Too funny!

  2. heather Says:

    Thank you yet again for some great insight. I too have a very eager five year old who informed me that if I don’t teach her to read she will figure it out herself! I struggled, but decided to start her after Christmas. Making her wait two more years seems a great big waste to me. Good Luck, Heather

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      If your 5 year old is anything like mine she will to :).

      I am so glad you are listing to your instinct and thanks wishing you the same.

Leave a Reply

