Forensics, Fingerprints, and Fudge

Well I think I have the rest of the school year figured out. Since we started our alphabet block at the start of the new year I am going to wait until after January to start next years lessons. This way I have taken pressure off myself to be finished with our lessons by summer. The girls are learning so much right now and to be honest I think Little Sis will be ready to start first grade by then.

Yesterday was all about fingerprints. I used lesson 1, Examining physical evidence, from PBS Teachers. First we talked about how no one has the same fingerprint and how they can help solve crimes. Then we watched the forensic video about 2 girls trying to find out who wreaked her little sisters birthday party from DragonFly TV.

After that we did the Zoom activity and examined our fingerprints.

pictures 1589

We also used our fingerprints to paint fish

pictures 1577

and flowers.

pictures 1580

I read the stories The Tale of The Flopsy Bunnies, and The Fierce Bad Rabbit by Beatrix Potter.

Little Sis finished her book on the letter F.

pictures 1586

pictures 1587

pictures 1588

Today after Miss Sky’s drama class ,for our baking project, we made fudge. Peanut butter and chocolate (I am going to freeze half of it for those times when nothing but sugar will do).

pictures 1584

Next week we decided to take a week off from academics. I always liked the idea of taking a week off every 6 weeks of school. We did that our first year homeschooling and it worked out great, I don’t know why I stopped to be honest.

When we start back we are going to work on a math block. We will be working more with factoring and I will introduce Miss Sky to decimals. I would also like to play a few math games with both the little’s and finish our handwork projects we started. Not to mention other handwork projects I would like to work on.

Miss Sky is halfway through The Marvelous Land Of Oz by L. Frank Baum again ,for her reading this week, while she reminds me constantly that we need to read the next book in the series. So I guess that needs to be added to our list as well.

Wishing everyone a great weekend !

 

Leave a Reply

