One Is The Golden Sun

Yes, it always feels so refreshing coming off of a short break. Especially when you get so much accomplished while you are off. I will admit that this break was more important to me then to the Little’s. In fact one child (hmm  wonder who I am talking about) refused to accept we were on a break from school.

If you have been following along with my abrupt change in plans this year, you know I have been doing a lot of thinking about schooling and learning in general. I have found myself wondering why or how I have “allowed” myself get into this academic race to get done. There is more to homeschooling than academics and this was just the break I needed to remind myself of that. Children need breaks from school, adults need vacations from work, yet I somehow forgot to take a break for myself. There were projects around the house( you know the ones that we deem unimportant that keep getting put off) that needed to be attended to.

Of course ,besides a contest to see just who could get more paint on themselves, there was lots of this

pictures 1622

and this going on.

pictures 1623

Well today we eased ourselves back into school mode by starting a math block. Miss Sky has officially finished her fraction workbook and I can honestly say she really gets it. She knows what an improper fraction is, she knows how to make a proper fraction improper, she can add and subtract fractions, she can add and subtract whole numbers and fractions, and she can add and subtract 3 and 4 fractions at a time (Yes ). Now to work on her logical thinking skills but first a multiplication review.

Miss Sky has also mastered her times tables “but” if we don’t keep practicing she will forget. I am really not all into drill and kill and either is she however I do think I have found a fun way to work on them, multiplication war and a mp3 copy of A Child’s Introduction to Multiplication Tables. We listened to the tables while tossing the beanbag back and forth. Both were a hit.

Even though Little Sis is way past this stage of numbers, she is adding without manipulatives, it is important that children have a concrete  understanding of what numbers are. So today was all about the number 1.

pictures 1617

We talked about what this number means and I asked her to give me 1 gem. Next I asked her to point out on herself what equaled 1 while looking in a mirror. She also came to the conclusion there is only one of her. Then I gave her “THE” math book. OMGoodness she was SO excited and had to come out of the schoolroom to show everyone. Then she made her first page in her new math MLB.

pictures 1619

Miss Sky is still working out of  her same math MLB and  Little Sis just had to compare pages with her.

pictures 1620

(Above Miss Sky’s)

Then Little Sis and I tossed the beanbag around while we counted all the way to 100.

For reading Little Sis read I See Sam books 6-10, we will continue with books 9 and 10 the rest of the week. Miss Sky read the book Fairy Houses by Tracy Kane to Little Sis and I am finishing up our read aloud of The Giant Golden Book of Elves and Fairies by Jane Werner just in time for St. Patty’s Day.

Wishing everyone a great week !

One Response to “One Is The Golden Sun”

  1. jessie Says:

    I am so happy to see that they enjoy reading so much. I remember I would read for hours. Of course, that mainly consisted of Lord of The Rings, and the sweep series.. 🙂 how different things are now! See ya’ll soon!!

Leave a Reply

