Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!!

Today St. Patrick has made his way to our seasonal table replacing King Winter. He brings along with him spring ,as everything he touches turns to green.This morning I awoke to thisand this as well as having green toilet water(food coloring I hope), but I spared you that picture :). Yes there seems to be a very mischievous leprechaun running loose in our home and you bet The Little’s aren’t saying a word.

Today’s festivities include a feast of Shepherds Pie and Soda Bread (oh yeah), a reading of Patrick by Tomie dePaola, and watching The Little Travelers visit the British Isles. Though with temps in the 70s it would have been a beautiful day to see the parade.

As far as school Tuesday I did something a little different. I pulled out our basket of homemade goodies and told The Little’s I wanted them to come up with a story using characters from the basket.For Little Sis I had her draw pictures for her story.Then I had them tell their story as a puppet show. This was a big hit. Little Sis did so good telling a story with her pictures, and Miss Sky wrote 1 whole page front and back for her story.This was not graded in any way but gave me a chance to see where Miss Sky is with spelling and punctuation. She did great.

For math Miss Sky and I have been going over word problems. This is something I noticed she needs to work on. We have continued with our number study with Little Sis

pictures 1632

but this has been a bit boring for her so I picked up some math books at the library this week. We read The Math Zoo by Patricia Whitehouse and she LOVES this book. I also got to see where she is on math concepts.

For Reading Little Sis read her first “library” book Hot Dog by Molly Coxe. She is really excited and Miss Sky is rereading Meet Felicity.

Independent studies this week started like this “Mom do we have any books on gorillas?” So we headed to the library for “her” to find some, and she did.I “assigned” her to write a report due next week and we are going over the steps one takes to write it. Such as note taking, resource lists, and rough and final drafts.

We rearranged the kitchen during our “cleaning” making room for our art supplies. This way they are available for whenever inspiration should strike. Little Sis decided she wanted to make pet rocks.I guess that about sums up what we have been up to this week.

Wishing everyone a Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!

Leave a Reply

