You Have Now Entered The 3rd Dimension

Okay you may have noticed earlier in the week a picture I took with the girls in shorts. That is because it almost reached 80 degrees. The windows were open, sheets were blowing in the gentle breeze. Then what happened you might ask? We had quarter size hail, tornado warnings, and today there is a fire in the wood burning stove. Yesterday the temperatures didn’t even make it out of the 30s and it looks like this weather is here to stay for a while (BLAH).

I am doing something different this week I am posting my weekly wrap up along with Weird Unsocialized Homeschools. I love reading how other homeschoolers spend their week, so I figured why not. (Okay I see I was to link to my post and not my whole blog so please forgive this first timer :))

We have continued working with geometry for our math lessons this week and I introduced Little Sis to patterns. She is really catching on quick and loves, loves, loves me reading the math books that she has to answer questions. This child is a natural problem solver. I read the book Patterns by Michele Koomen then gave her the basket of jewels to come up with her own patterns.There has been lots of puzzle creating going on as well.(Why do children insist on doing everything the hard way? No matter how many times I tell them to make the border first.)

Little Sis continued working on her numbers

pictures 1649

and shapes. Miss Sky has been working on making 3 dimensional shapes with Zome.

pictures 1648

You could do this with toothpicks and gumdrops or play-doh too.

Miss Sky finished her report on gorillas.

pictures 1647

She picked which facts she wanted to write down and wrote the whole thing herself. I just helped her proofread and circled misspelled words she needed to look up in the dictionary. I am pretty proud of her. She  chose not to write about how they are being killed and I respected that.

We finished the first book in the Fairy Chronicles series by J.H. Sweet and are getting ready to start book 2.Little Sis read books 11 and 12 of the I See Sam books.Miss Sky didn’t do any independent reading this week on account of reading books for her report but is reading Junie B. Jones and the Stupid Smelly Bus by Barbara Park for Little Sis’s read aloud. Oh yes so many negative reviews of Junie B but you know we (yes I said we, Papa too) really like this series. My girls read many books of wonderfully written literature but sometimes you just crave pizza if you know what I mean :).

Wishing everyone a great weekend!!!!!

PS  Have you seen my friend Sally’s new blog? If not check it out she has a wonderful give-a-way going on for some handmade soap.

PSS Don’t forget about Earth Hour tomorrow.

8 Responses to “You Have Now Entered The 3rd Dimension”

  1. Sally Says:

    I love reading what you girls are up to! I love Junie B, and my oldest did, too. EK(age 7) does as well, but she started demonstrating alot of the behaviors of Junie B, and we had to pull it. Maybe when she’s a little more mature, she’ll be able to handle it. But whoo whee, does that girl make us LAUGH!!!
    🙂 good luck on the soap!

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Thanks Sally,
      Yes we have been reading Junie B since Miss Sky was 6(man) so far we just had an incident where she would lick her church shoes (yuck). I don’t know how many times I laughed out loud while reading those books :).
      Wishing you a great weekend and I love your new set up.

  2. Jamerrill Stewart Says:

    You posted some great pictures 🙂 WE are having crazy weather as well. Yes, shorts this week and now…3-5 inches of snow in the forecast! God Bless~

  3. Lizzie Says:

    We loved Junie B. Jones even if we didn’t want them to emulate her.
    Looks like a wonderful week! Happy weekly wrap-up.

  4. Twisted Cinderella Says:

    Thanks for sharing your week with us, I love seeing how other homeschoolers are spending their days.

Leave a Reply

