It’s The Final Meltdown

Happy April !

Well as the old saying goes April showers bring May flowers couldn’t have been more true today. The first day of April brought showers. At least it wasn’t snow.

There are many reasons as to why I started blogging but the main  reason was to keep documentation of all the work we do through out a year. It of course has become much more than that. It has become my scrapbook. I can’t believe how much the girls have changed since my very first post. I love reading back and reliving memories.

It has also become a way for out-of-state family members to feel not so far away. To bring them in and see all the work their sisters, grandchildren, and nieces do through out the week.

I never thought anybody else would want to read about our very mundane life let alone that I (me) could be inspiring. Though with inspiration can often come intimidation,which is something I never want to make anyone feel. Believe me I struggle with homeschooling and parenthood plenty. There have been many days I don’t know whether or not I should even be blogging, but then I turn the computer on and there will be a very sweet comment waiting for me giving me encouragement to continue (thank you).  I have come to one conclusion though, I am no longer writing this blog just for documentation anymore.

Yesterday one of “those” days. You know the kind that you wish you would have just stayed in bed. We had total meltdown. It was not pretty. So to set the scene (in case there are any new readers) My girls could not be any more different when it comes to learning. I started on the path of Waldorf education with Miss Sky(now 10 and a right brain learner), she just didn’t have any interest in learning to read or write. She was too busy playing. So to find an education that supported her needs was great! And let me tell you it was too (for her).

Then came Little Sis (who is 5 and a complete left brain learner). Waldorf Education doesn’t believe a child should start school until 6 turning 7. Even then first grade is more like Kindergarten now a days academically(and yes I know all the whys behind this reason). To be honest she wouldn’t even be starting Kindergarten until this year but there was no way I could hold this child back any longer.

Well (trying to make a long story short) I  picked up a 4th grade math workbook to serve as a “guideline” to what Miss Sky would be learning if she were in a public school to help fill in any gaps there might be. We have been working on this book all week.

Little Sis LOVES workbooks (she could finish one in less than an hour if I allowed her to)  and has started working through first grade math. So I am helping Miss Sky work through her workbook and Little Sis is flying through hers asking “what do I do next, what do I do next”  I tell her to hold on, you need to wait until I’m done with sissy. Well this makes her mad and she runs to her room to pout ( She is also very head strong).

Miss Sky on the other hand was just not getting her lesson no matter how much I tried to explain it to her. This then leads to “I’m not a baby mom, you don’t need to talk to me like one”. There of course were other words but I think I will stop here.

I now have 2 children in tears and begin to wonder what the heck just happened. I checked the time to see if it was too late or too early to go back to bed. Feelings of failure began to seep into my body and I started to question if I have what it takes to home educate my children.

After a very (very) long talk with Miss Sky we decided to take a break from academics and started to focus on what we do like about homeschool.

So these last 2 days have looked like this.

and like this.

pictures 1660

There has been lots of tournaments of this (With Miss Sky being the only one to beat the timer.)

and lots of this Somehow Little Sis managed to finish her numbers

pictures 1659

and we finished The Fairy Chronicles ,Dragonfly and the Web of Dreams, with this.

Resulting in this. Last but not least there has been lots of this.I guess all we needed was a little reminder.

Wishing everyone a great weekend !

You can read about how others wrapped up their week at Weird Unsocialized Homeschoolers.

8 Responses to “It’s The Final Meltdown”

  1. Sally Says:

    It IS hard sometimes, isn’t it? Remembering that we are not alone, and being willing to open to the experience helps you AND helps your readers. While we don’t like to hear the negative things that you experience, it DOES make us feel like we are not the only ones going through these challenges. Your day described above sounds lot like a number of our days, if you include sibling arguments lately. I am sure many of your readers could say they have had days like this. I thank you for sharing this with us, for being so REAL with us. 🙂

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Thanks Sally,
      It is so funny to look back at my first posts. I was holding so much of myself back. What if this or what if that…. but this year I decided to be more open. Homeschooling isn’t always sunshine, lollypops, and rainbows. 🙂

  2. See Jamie blog Says:

    I started blogging for those same reasons, and my blog has morphed with my life. But it is still a great place to keep up with and share what we’re doing in our homeschool! My girls are quite different in their learning styles and there is a wide age difference, so many days are very hard. Hang in there! 🙂

  3. MamaAcorn Says:

    Hugs mama! We’ve so been there, more times than I care to admit! Thank you for sharing the good and the bad with us. This journey is hard at times, but oh, when it’s good, it’s really good!

    Our March went out like a lion, roaring so all could hear – and we’re still dealing with it.

    And I wish there were more hours in the day so I could keep up with blogging! I adore your blog and thank you for all the inspiration you bring to our days!

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      I am sorry to hear about your March and praying for a better April.
      Thank You Mama for all your kind words and reassuring pats on the back!!! 🙂

  4. Our Country Road Says:

    Sorry about your frustrating week! I have not been exactly where you are, but you are not alone in finding the challenges of schooling more then one at a time! I wounder if your youngest might benefit from a workbox system? It seems she desires some independence in her learning. Hope you can find some ways to make it work and still be fun for all of you!

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Thanks,
      I have heard about the workbox system. That might be a good choice for her, she is a very independent child :).
      Thank you for giving me another option to think about.

      Blessings!

Leave a Reply

