Operation : Finish What You Start

Well this weeks plans have all been thrown out the window. After last weeks meltdown we decided it was time to give math a break. The Little’s have been asking when will we start our alphabet block back up, it seems the only one that needed the break from letters was me. However there are a few projects that need to be finished before we do. So this week that is just what we plan on doing.

Remember this project?Yeah well we never finished. There have been TONS of other handwork projects I’ve been wanting to do as well that keep getting bumped over academics.

We like to do handwork projects while listening to an audio book (It’s nice for someone else to do the reading for a change). I found Grammar-Land by M.L. Nesbitt over at LibriVox.com and thought it would be a great way to review our grammar lessons.

We also have letters that need to be written and then there is spring cleaning to be done. Not to mention the baking projects.

When one of our farmers learned we bake our own bread they offered a trade for some of their products. So the girls and I have been elbow deep in flour while we test out several different recipes. My favorite recipe comes from Feeding The Whole Family by Cynthia Lair with this one and this one coming in close behind. Now to test which one stays fresh longer and freezes the best  (Hmm sounds like another science experiment to me).I know it’s a tough job but someone has to do it (so glad it gets to be me :)).

Wishing everyone a great week!

6 Responses to “Operation : Finish What You Start”

  1. Sally Says:

    We have the older edition of Lair’s cookbook and we really like it. It’s great information, and while we are not vegetarians and do not eat soy, it’s been a great resource and a learning tool for me. And I like the cute picnic basket drawing for the lunch section. 😉

    And, whoo whee, thank you for reminding me about Grammarland!! I think it was posted on Homeschool Freebies some moons back and I just can’t keep up with what I have bookmarked or downloaded! That is a great thing and we WILL be using that in the next few weeks!!! Thank you!!
    Speaking of handwork, I am going to be sharing my spinning wheel class stuff this week and into next…in hopes that you add another handwork project to the mix, LOL!

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Hi Sally,
      You are so right about FTWF as being a great resource, I wouldn’t know my family liked millet without it.
      You sound so much like me , I have 1,000 bookmarks and don’t even think I’ve used any of them. Until now 🙂 I am really excited to use Grammar-land.

      I can’t wait to see your projects. You are a very talented Mama!

  2. Angela Mellon Says:

    We read GrammarLand at the start of the school year and just loves it. I have recommended to many friends. Enjoy your week,

  3. Cathy Says:

    Hi Kim,

    Did you see Teri’s post on Grammar Land here:

    http://homeschoolingwaldorf.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/grammar-land-parts-of-speech/

    Sorry you had a difficult time of it recently. I know how that impacts my confidence too. A lot of the time the tears in this house are mine! I have found that thinking about all the non-academic reasons why we homeschool helps me too, then it doesn’t really matter when we have a bad day – well, at least it is not so much a reflection of me and my (lack of?) teaching skills. I just have to keep reminding myself to do that.

    You’re doing a good job, Mama.

    Blessings!

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Hi Cathy,
      So glad to hear from you :).
      No I had not seen that post, thank you so much for sharing! We have been busy doing lots of non-academic projects around here this week (and spending a lot of time outdoors).

      Thanks Mama, and many blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

