A Bit More Honesty Please

Well here we are, another Friday has arrived and I am left feeling like I have not accomplished anything. I start the week out with great plans but fall short in the execution department. I could start listing a bunch of excuses like blaming it on the weather but really the fault is all mine. You see I have developed a problem that only I can change.

Like most problems it didn’t start out this way, in fact I always start out with the best intentions but something ,what my family likes to call The Beast, grabs me away. This problem is something that you never seem to hear much about but I can attest that it does indeed exist.  I can also assure you that admitting it is not an easy task. I have IAD, there I said it.

There is a wonderful book out, I am sure many of you already know about, entitled Simplicity Parenting as I am leisurely reading through, something all of a sudden clicks with me. So many of us are working to simplify childhood but what about simplifying ourselves? After all children learn through imitation.

Yes we go through and declutter our homes of possessions, I clear out half of my children’s toys and books why, because having too much is overwhelming to them right?  Boredom is a good thing right? Yet we are exposed to something on a daily basis that contains more information then we could ever digest in a lifetime (Why wait for God’s reply I’ll just google it).

So this next week starting Sunday until Saturday I am going to do something  that, for me, is very hard. I am going to simplify my brain and pull the plug on our internet. This means no e-mail, blogs, or youtube for 1 week. If I need to talk to someone I will call them or maybe even write a letter.

My children are home with me everyday yet I feel like I am never with them. I don’t want my children to remember me by always having my face glued to a screen. I want them to remember my smile and warm embrace.

I will see you all next Saturday and maybe just maybe I will have accomplished all I  set out to do for once :).

Many Blessings friends for a great weekend!

4 Responses to “A Bit More Honesty Please”

  1. Melissa Says:

    So true. And, thanks for the honesty to share it. I’m learning more and more that I am certainly not the only HSing momma with this problem … and moms like you give others of us the courage to take good look at ourselves and maybe make some changes, too. I do the EXACT same thing. We’ve weeded out the toys and books, but not the computer. I’ve learned everything I could possibly learn about every HS method and organizational method and I’ve read every blog post of every other Momma and how she’s done it … but rare is the day that I actually put much of it into action. The internet can be good for so much, but can destroy us as well … if we let it! Many blessings to you … I’ll be thinking of you this week!

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Thank you Melissa so much for your sweet comment and sharing your honesty!

      It is nice to know I am not alone in this battle. You are so right, I teach my children that the computer is a tool to expand your knowledge and can be used in so many good ways(which I do). However learning is no good if you never use it 🙂

      Thanks Again!

  2. Cathy Says:

    Oh, I have been there too. I found that subscribing to all my favourite blogs helped enormously because it controlled my aimless surfing habit – always on the search for the blog/site I didn’t know about yet.

    The other thing that has really made a difference is not logging on until the end of the day – rather than starting my day by reading my mail – oh, I’ll just have peek at that link then next thing you know an hour has passed…..

    I have dropped my yahoo group membership down to just one Waldorf group and my local area group, and I get everything on a digest so am not hearing that familiar “ping!” all day long.

    Truth is, we are doing this because we want to be the best parent and homeschooling mother our children can have and there is such a lot of really fabulous information out there. But I am starting to trust that the great stuff will find it’s way to me when I need it, and that I don’t have to know everything from the get go.

    Hope you enjoy your week unplugged, and I hope you come back and tell us all about it.

    Blessings,
    Cathy

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Thank you Cathy,

      I have tried all of those and still miserably fail ( I need to work on my will).

      You are right about why we are doing it.

      My mind was so clear this week and the ideas just started to flow from my pen. I think I forgot just how powerful spirit can be when we are quiet enough to hear it :).

      Many Blessings !

Leave a Reply

