Journey Into Newness

Well today ,in our area, was the first day of school. As I watch the children heading down to the bus stop dressed in their new clothes, sporty new shoes and towing brand new bags my mind started to drift to new beginnings.

If only life could be as easy as a new pair of shoes. Yes you can throw the old pair out but you are still left with all the stink. Even though the journey our family is about to partake on is all shiny and new there are still quite a few holes that need to be patched.

This year as everyone is cracking open their new materials and planners filling in their days with lessons and schedules, I plan on taking a different approach. This year I am taking my focus off of academics and placing it on our family’s relationship.

I love this quote I took from a blog of the same name. “Learning can only happen when a child is interested. If he’s not interested it’s like throwing marshmallows at his head and calling it eating.”
— Katrina Gutleben

As I look back on past posts I can sure say there was lots of marshmallow throwing going on around here. So instead of new “school” supplies this year Papa and I decided to give our girls something that one, would have never been an option before or two, something they would have had to wait to get for their birthday or Christmas. Why? Just because :).

pictures 2014

(The other gift can be seen in the video game post)

Now I know gifts can’t heal past wounds, that wasn’t the point at all. However these past few weeks as I sat with my girls playing video games or watching a movie for the 100th time I have noticed trust beginning to take form (Papa and I do solemnly promise to never take your things away out of anger because of bad behavior) and the door to communication slowly opening once again( Papa and I now understand you are not us and never will be. Trying to control you to be someone you are not will never work. We promise to do our very best at listening to your input with an open mind). This had been my goal all along.

So here is to new beginnings !!!!

Whether you are starting a new school year or heading down a new path too, I pray this year you always remember to stay true to yourself :).

Many Blessings friends !

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Journey Into Newness”

  1. Ingrid McCarthy Says:

    We are in the middle of our school year here in Australia, but I feel as if we are beginning something new too. I am saying ‘yes’ more often, the kids are crying less and we are less stressed. But they are still learning and asking for new learning.

    To new beginnings!

  2. Ingrid McCarthy Says:

    PS – loving the Beatles obsession!!!

  3. dkjsv05 Says:

    Yes, It has been wonderful around here too!

    We are learning to see each other as individuals, having our own uniqueness (which will take time I know) instead of what “I”, the parent wants.

    My littlest one LOVES them, it all came from showing her 1 video (Twist &Shout) to literally wanting to know everything about them. And it doesn’t stop there she knows each of their individual work outside of the group as well. She is one true fan :).

Leave a Reply

