“Don’t Bother Me Mom I’m Learning”

pictures 2261

Ugg the great TV debate has reared its ugly head again. Someone on a yahoo list asked the question “We are moving more into unschooling  and I am still having trouble with how TV fits into this.” I should mention she was also questioning whether to only allow “educational” programing.

I read the whole e-mail to Miss Sky and asked her thoughts about it. Together we came up with a reply, in the words of Miss Sky “to save children everywhere from going through the same thing I did.”

Of course someone else, who recommended getting rid of the television all together, took offense to what I said and had to explain herself( who I was not even replying to in the first place) and another piped in how they read something somewhere about your brain going into a dreamlike state while watching television.

Okay first and foremost I want to say every family is entitled to do what works best for them. I am not saying I am right and only right, I am not saying I’m wrong either my whole point is that everything doesn’t have to be black or white and as someone who has learned the hard way you don’t have to believe everything you hear as fact, try it for yourself first.

My brain has never been in a dreamlike state while watching television, unless it was one of those very boring documentaries from high school we were all made to watch. It has always been the opposite, our family can not watch an entire show of anything without stopping to discuss or look something up on the computer.

So I just want to recommend a few resources of my own,including a book entitled the same as my post,Don’t Bother Me Mom I’m Learning by Marc Prensky and a TED talk about children and video games to show there are “other” view points to learning as well. My hope is that parents will truly decide what “they” think is best for their family after seeing both sides :).

The world is changing whether we want it to or not, “The days of Sunday afternoons sipping herbal tea by the window reading a book are over.”

Gabe Zichermann

Blessings for the journey.

One Response to ““Don’t Bother Me Mom I’m Learning””

  1. Ingrid McCarthy Says:

    This is something I (and obviously a lot other people) struggle with. What is the “right” thing to do?? I think it depends a lot on your family and the kids. My kids spend a lot of time on the computer and we watch a lot of TV together.

    I think there is a huge amount of value of watching TV together (and not just documentaries!). You have a perfect opportunity to discuss social norms, values, ideas together as a family.

    And while I don’t allow unlimited use of computers (or my son would literally do nothing else), there is educational value in most of what they choose to play – constructing things, programming, building, interacting, history, maths, science etc etc. So it is easy to write it off as “playing games” but there is more to than that.

    It all depends on your point of view and how wide you open your eyes!

Leave a Reply

