A Week In The Life Of Unschoolers

What another crazy week! Electricity and Plumbing are fixed (Yes!).

Then out of nowhere, everything’s just peachy, I thought I pulled a muscle in my back. Only I didn’t pull a muscle I had a gallbladder attack that almost ended with me in the emergency room. Oh no please not days before Christmas! The same thing happened to Papa last year but his ended with surgery. I however am hoping to avoid the hospital. So it’s been lots and lots of rest and being taken care of by the best nurses in the world ;). Today I am feeling much ,much better, actually able to eat (thank goodness for Chinese take out and egg drop soup, man how things change when mama is sick).

Anyway even with all the interruptions the past 2 weeks our days went on without a hitch. Only the Christmas crafts and baking  had to be put on hold. I think having our “nest” set up for the girls to safely explore really helped a lot. This way nobody “has to be in charge” for learning to happen it just kind of unfolds.

Miss Sky has found a new book of interest that has been by her side all week. It’s called Basher Science Astronomy, Out Of This World.

pictures 2279

Oh and that My body book got a workout this week too ;).

pictures 2286

We had plans to make a few of these characters as felties um but mama had to back out :(.

We also enjoyed Ingrid’s beautiful photographs of the lunar eclipse from her blog Defying Gravity.

Little Sis has been busy reading Frog and Toad to me and doing a little writing.

pictures 2280

There’s been viewings of Planet Earth and BBC’s documentary Life. We played the video game Thrillville together, Little Sis passed the video game Disney Princess” Enchanted Journey all by herself. She also has been playing more with Tux Paint.

pictures 2288

Let’s see, oh yes there were yummy butterscotch no bake cookies and an awesome 3 hour family conversation over “just” the trailer of The Movie The Help.

I can’t wait tell we actually watch the movie.

The Christmas stories have finally been in circulation starting with The Little House Christmas Treasury. I was excited that Miss Sky requested to read this. I thought her pioneer days long gone. Then there were Little Sis’s favorites, some from my childhood.

pictures 2292

We watched favorite Christmas movies It’s A Wonderful Life, Frosty’s Winter Wonderland, The Night Before Christmas, Rudolph’s Shiny New Year, and A Year without Santa Clause as a family.

Papa and the girls played the board game Clue and helped Little Sis find some hidden pictures(I love her Mary and Joseph picture on the 10th)

pictures 2289

and Miss Sky did some video game research on Ebay looking for new games and the best prices.

pictures 2291

I’m sure I missed a couple of  things being I was in bed a few days but that’s all of what I remember anyway :).

Happy Holidays!

4 Responses to “A Week In The Life Of Unschoolers”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Hey there,I am glad that you are being taken care of .You must be a proud mama!!!!!!!!!!!!!I just rented the HELP from REDBOX and I had to watch it by myself BC the hubs and son don’t like those kinda girlie movies but anyways it was good but very very racial I was shocked by a few things so be aware but other than that I think it is a good show for all to see and it shows how things once were.

    Merry Christmas

    Cant wait til you get to feeling better so we can get together

  2. Ingrid McCarthy Says:

    You poor thing – look after yourself! Love that your girls keep on reading and learning 🙂

    I read The Help not long ago, so I’m hanging to see the movie – what a great conversation starter!

    Merry Christmas and I hope you feel better soon.

  3. Cinda Martensen Says:

    As a child growing up every Christmas my mom would have us watch A Christmas story. We loved it and sometimes even watched it when it was not Christmas. I think it is funny that every year it is popular and stores are still selling its merchandise. The movie has become a Christmas classic. I have so many favorites it is hard to tell which one part I like best. I have conviced my husband to watch it with me this year.
    Happy Holidays and thanks for your post!

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Oh yes that one is a classic in our household too. We watch it twice, once on Thanksgiving then again Christmas night.

      I remember doing a study of this movie in English class one year in high school as an example of great writing, it was my most favorite class that year. 🙂

      Happy Holidays to you!

Leave a Reply

