I Want My, I Want My BBC

Well hooking up with Stephanie over at Ordinary Life Magic this week to talk about the “dreaded” Television.

http://www.ordinarylifemagic.com/2012/03/unschooling-tools-television.html

I am going to try my best to not get started on the great television debate but do want to mention that before unschooling we were “Waldorf”. So I know and heard much about this topic and decided to make *my* own decisions about it. I was raised with television and am not brain-dead yet (as far as I know that is). 🙂

Now that we are radical unschoolers, how does the TV fit into the girls’ lives?

We have never had cable but do instant stream Netflix. We have a television in the front room and the girls have one in their room where they can instant stream as well. I do not separate “educational” television from none. The girls pick and choose what may be of interest to them and if it looks like it could be inappropriate they will ask if I would check it out for them first. Both girls are very capable of making decisions on what is best for them.

If I come across a show that I know the girls might be interested in I tell them about it and sometimes we watch it and sometimes we don’t watch it at all. There is never any pressure put on them to do so.

Connections and learning happen no matter what we watch. I can not count how many times movies or television shows have brought on further independent studies. Miss Sky picked up a copy of an Ice Age( the cartoon movie) video game and this led her to all kinds of learning adventures.

Right now the girls have been watching more webisodes of Monster High. http://www.monsterhigh.com/videos

This originated from Miss Sky’s love of the television show The Munsters and has led us to watch all kinds of old monster movies together as a family like the original Dracula and Wolf Man. It has even led them to learn more about Egypt, which led us to watch The Ten Commandments(lots of Egypt in that movie) and it all started from an episode of The Munsters.

I could write all day about these connections but here is a list of *the girls* most favorite shows ( I asked them to make the list for me 🙂 ).

Miss Sky is very much into all things animal. When she was little she would get up Saturday morning to watch Marty Stouffer’s Wild America. http://www.wildamerica.com/

Little Sis does *not* enjoy animal documentaries. She does not like watching an animal hunt down another animal. So she usually plays on the computer when we watch these shows. She is more into art and math. She has recently found Baby’s First television shows on Netflix.http://www.babyfirsttv.com/tv/program/picture-pad/293  Don’t let the name fool you. Little Sis loves to grab a piece of paper and draw along with the show.

I write all this to explain that both girls may not be necessarily watching these shows together but more times than not they are. Oh one more thing, since my girls know exactly what they like to watch, they are quite picky too. Miss Sky does *not* like National Geographic documentaries. She says there is “too much talking and not enough showing”. She is a *huge* fan of Sir David Attenborough and the BBC.

I did mention a list somewheres right? Yes, here we go. 🙂

*PBS*

Martha Speaks

Cyberchase

*BBC*

Blue Planet

Planet Earth

Life

Walking With Dinosaurs

Walking With Prehistoric Beasts

Walking With Monsters

*YouTube*

Schoolhouse Rock videos

The Letter People (this is old school from my childhood but the girls loved it )

And thanks to my friend(who happens to also be my neighbor) The Book Bird

*Marvel cartoons*

All Things X-men 🙂

X-men Evolution

Wolverine and The X-men

The original X-men from the 90s

The Avengers

Ironman Armored Adventures

*Favorite cartoons that are not Marvel*

Ruby Gloom

Sonic the Hedgehog

*Television Sitcoms or shows*

Roseanne

That 70s Show

The Simpsons

King of the Hill

The Munsters

Jeff Corwin Experience (and any animal shows like The Crocodile Hunter, eccertra..)

Malcolm in the Middle(where Miss Sky found out she does not like Lois)

*Movies*

This one is hard because we are HUGE classic movie fans. I love all things James Stewart and Papa loves Charlie Chaplin and Laurel and Hardy. The girls watch these movies with us but here are their favorite animated movies from this year.

Madagascar 1 and 2

All 3 of The Ice Age movies

The Smurfs

Both Alvin and the Chipmunks movies

and all the Disney animated movies

All that is left is for me to mention our love of The Little Travelers DVDs http://thelittletravelers.com/

*Updated* to add the David Macaulay videos http://www.amazon.com/Castle-Home-Video-David-Macaulay/dp/B000EOTEJK/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS?ie=UTF8&coliid=I25QBKOLA61YOU&colid=1YHR3QUNQJPNY

Well, that is our list this year. It might be interesting to see how much has changed by next year.

Thanks again Stephanie, this was fun!!!

One Response to “I Want My, I Want My BBC”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    🙂 I didn’t get into many of the children’s favorites because they change so fast!
    Well, Maddie’s anyway… Trevelyn’s are consistent.
    So just the regular ol’ favorites were mentioned. 🙂
    This is a really fun list! Some new things for me (us) to check out!
    (Which is the whole point!)

    (And you went into the whole rabbit trail thing…awesome… I figured I’d be there forever if I got started on that!!) 😀

Leave a Reply

