A Spring Break

So it was about last year when I had my first gallbladder attack. Well I’ve waited and waited to go to a doctor (kind of scared of them )and a week ago today there I was smack dab in the middle of the emergency room because I was in so much pain and so weak I couldn’t take it anymore. My stomach was so bloated it literally felt like I had swallowed a watermelon and I could not keep food down.

After being tested to make sure my liver was functioning properly I was sent home with the advice to make an appointment with a GI doctor. Well to make a long story short I go in for an upper endoscopy next Tuesday. I would be scared as hell if I had not gone through this with Papa already and  know what to expect ( it is the same doctor who performed his procedure too and I like him).

He will be testing me for Celiac Disease, something I was pretty sure I didn’t have. Gallbladder feeling like it was about to pop out of my back and side, yes. Celiac Disease? I mean no hives no allergies just terrible migraines and indigestion.

Today has been 2 days of being gluten-free and finally my stomach does not feel like I swallowed a watermelon and my appetite is even getting better (Easter was not very fun this year I am afraid 😦 ). Today I have finally been able to stand up and walk without getting light-headed (I thought I was dying, dramatic I know but really I did).

I will be taking a break from blogging a bit as I regain my strength (still pretty weak from not being able to keep foods down for a week, um toast?) and prepare for next weeks tests( not to mention everything that needs catching up).

The girls have been very brave and taking great care of me while Papa went back to work (need to keep our insurance). I think Miss Sky has the stomach, liver, gallbladder and intestines functions memorized. I guess me getting sick was a great introductory into the human body. 🙂

Peace for the journey.

One Response to “A Spring Break”

  1. Ingi (@ingidefygravity) Says:

    You poor thing. I suffer indigestion too, and it hurts (a lot). I hope they find you some answers – let us know how you get on.

Leave a Reply

