“Pizza, Pizza”

My sister asked me months ago for my pizza recipe and with another recent request I thought I would post it here instead of writing it a bunch of times.

DSCF6013

I have several steps to making our pizza but I think the most important is the sauce, it has to be homemade. I like to make it fresh with tomato sauce I get from the Roma tomatoes out of our garden but when it runs out any tomato sauce will do.

Pizza Sauce

1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce

1 (6 oz) tomato paste

1 clove minced garlic

2 Tbsp light brown sugar

2 Tbsp red wine vinegar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp dried basil

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp cumin

2 Tbsp olive oil

I like to add the olive oil first in a bowl with the minced garlic and let it sit together while I get the dough made then add the rest of the ingredients together. Refrigerate while the pizza dough rises. You can make ahead, the longer it sits the better it tastes. You can freeze it too. I can make 4 medium pizzas with this recipe.

The dough

I got this recipe years and years ago while watching my most favorite cooking show ever called Cooking Live with Sara Moulton on the food network. Now she is on PBS.

http://saramoulton.com/

(Love her! I learned how to cook SO much from watching her show.)

The dough, right.

1/4 cup lukewarm water

1 Tbsp yeast

Mix them together in a bowl and let sit 5-10 minutes

3 cups flour plus extra for kneading the dough

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 Tbsp sugar

1/ 4 cup parmesan cheese

1 cup lukewarm water

1 Tbsp olive oil

Mix the rest of the dry ingredients together then add the cup lukewarm water along with the 1/4 cup yeast mixture.

Mix together in bowl until dough becomes sticky and starts to pull away from the sides of the bowl.

I like to knead the dough right inside the bowl (I use a really big glass bowl to knead all my doughs which saves from cleaning up all the floury mess)with my hands adding flour until the dough is smooth to the touch and no longer sticky.

Add the 1 Tbsp olive oil and turn the dough around to coat all sides and let rise 1 hour.

This will make 2 medium size pizzas, add what ever toppings you like. Heat oven 425 and bake 15 minutes.

I like to bake the crust first for 5 minutes before adding any toppings then finish baking for 10 minutes.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

