Little Comments

When our tree fell across our fence into our neighbor’s yard and us cleaning up the mess afterwards has made us available more for conversations with them.

One conversation turned to school, they do know we homeschool, and testing.

Neighbor: “Don’t the girls need to be tested like the school kids?”

Me explaining the homeschooling laws in our state, Indiana, and that homeschoolers here do not need to have their kids tested.

The look she gave me ,being honest, made me feel like a criminal. Like how on earth is that legal?

I have learned though ,and having gained tremendous amounts of confidence in homeschooling ( I don’t mention unschooling to anyone except close family and friends who are truly curious), that it may not be the other person’s intention to make me feel bad.

I have learned that their idea of what they think homeschooling is, is not the same as what we actually do. If they have no examples of homeschooling to make connections they can only use what they know and that is what they remember school to be like which includes testing.

I also know that they are clueless to any of the homeschooling laws or what goes on inside our home so instead of letting their questions bother me I try to figure out what they really are wanting to know.

I think they really want reassurance that the girls won’t grow up uneducated (because test scores= educated 😉 ), which in reality is impossible to give anyone reassurance of what will happen with another person’s future homeschooled or not. The best “educated” person can still make very costly mistakes, that is life.

Me: “You know, you would have to be a pretty crappy parent to not want your children educated.”

The conversation ended soon after that because either I’m a crappy parent who doesn’t want my children educated (and that is a whole other topic)or I’m not.

I don’t hide my kids away from the world, actually I am pretty proud of them. I don’t need test scores to prove how smart they are. Conversations with them prove that and there is one in particular who loves conversations. 🙂

2 Responses to “Little Comments”

  1. JAmie Says:

    WOW……….I am not surprised by the comments at all.I am still trying to learn this whole unschool thing and not to go with others especially within the co op that we are going to .I need to get with you so I can feel reassured about things,HELP.I enjoy reading your blog and what you and the family do.

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      I sent you an e-mail about meeting up. 🙂

      I do want to add in case others read your comment, so this is not just directed at you personally 🙂 , about co-ops is they can be great for like-minded people or you can use them to be social but what I don’t like about them is what might work for some doesn’t work for everyone kind of like school. I too fell into the “oh what curriculum do you use?” groups when first getting started. I wanted to unschool from the very beginning but I let others tell me “you don’t want to do that”, which stinks because our first years of homeschooling were great!

      Then I tried to change my child and forgot why I wanted to homeschool, which is my child *did not* fit into school’s round pegs (she still wouldn’t). I needed to find what would work for *my* child not what others wanted for theirs. For me unschooling fit that bill. It is working around how our family learns best. This is why all unschoolers are different. What my girls are into and are learning may not be what your children are into, that is okay though. That is why I love it so!

Leave a Reply

