Week In The Life (Gotta Keep Rollin’, Rollin’, Rollin’)

Let’s see if last year was all about Kingdom Hearts, Disney and Fruits Basket then I guess this year will be known for Black Butler and Princess Tutu.

Little Sis (and Miss Sky, okay myself included too) love Princess Tutu. The anime itself is SO entertaining but then add in all it’s mini connections and all I can say is here we go again. πŸ™‚

Fairytales, Ballet, Degas, Germany, Classical music, Tchaikovsky, Swan Lake…..

yes I will stop at Swan Lake for now. This has been by far Miss Sky’s most favorite ballet ever. Nutcracker? “Pretty cool, great music but Swan lake was his best for sure.” I knew it wouldn’t take much for Little Sis to be drawn in too. See even though these girls are as different as night and day they are still related. They still have Mama and Papa’s genetic makeup and what can I say we are HUGE nerds.

Okay one may prefer Ramona over Junie B Jones and one needs to have her space clutter free and one, without naming any names, does not like Lord Of The Rings (I know!) but when it comes to the Arts our family’s tastes are pretty broad so there is bound to be some similarities.

I’ve mentioned our taste in movies and music here before how in our home Mozart could follow Green Day. Billie Holiday could follow Janis Joplin and Hank Williams Sr. could follow Lady Gaga. That’s just how we roll and why I think unschooling suits *our* family perfectly. My point? Oh yeah all this to say Princess Tutu has played a really big influence in these past weeks.

Starting with Little Sis’s first real sewing project

DSCF6281

a Princess Kraehe doll.

DSCF6282

Oh and some painting

DSCF6277

and drawing too.

DSCF6289

So I guess I need to add pattern making, sewing, and painting to the connection list above as well.

More puzzles

DSCF6280

and lavender play dough.

DSCF6287

Miss Sky has been creating her own stories around the Black Swan (so also add creative writing and illustration ideas),

DSCF6291

Minecraft, Minecraft, Minecraft,

DSCF6292

(A prison in one of Miss Sky’s worlds)

and drawings.

DSCF6290

(These are doodles that I find everywhere)

Our resources from the week

DSCF6294

where Little Sis and I are halfway through Beezus and Ramona.

I myself have been busy with summers bounty

DSCF6284

(the potatoes are from one of Papa’s friends gardens, tomatoes are ours)

making the first batch of tomato sauce

DSCF6288

which will probably be used in homemade sloppy joes by the end of the week. πŸ™‚

Yes lots of goodness this week, our eldest has finally come home! I know it will take some time for us all to find our new groove after her being away on her own for several years but I know we will find it. We are after all family and that’s how we roll too.

Peace for the journey.

2 Responses to “Week In The Life (Gotta Keep Rollin’, Rollin’, Rollin’)”

  1. Ingi Mc Says:

    Oh wow – your oldest home! That will be a big re-adjustment for you all!

Leave a Reply

