Week In The Life (“Sunrise Doesn’t Last All Morning…”)

I kind of made a pack with myself when first starting this blog 1. to always be honest and 2. to never sacrifice my true feelings in order to gain readers.

When first starting out with Waldorf education I gained a good amount of readers but knew it was no longer a good fit when I started getting worried about whether our choices were “Waldorf” enough.

I am a true believer one should not sacrifice who they are in order to fit into some kind of “group”. I never was one to fit any kind of mold myself. I was never one to really agree with labels either. I think this is because of being raised around mentally and physically disabled people as a child. Or maybe it is just apart of who I am or both. I saw people who were physically and mentally challenged find their place into this world and make their mark.

When first deciding to homeschool it can get scary. People seem to automatically come at you challenging your decision, which looking back now I am kind of glad. I am also the type of person who likes to prove people wrong too.

I have since learned though that really none of us have all the answers. We are all on a learning journey, some of us may be a little further along than others and some think they are a lot further than what they are. I also believe everyone should grow and evolve.

When first coming out at Waldorf I was upset with myself, I was upset that I allowed myself to conform and my earlier posts show this. However now I find myself thankful for Waldorf education, I learned *a lot* from it good and bad, some things we still use, and it has helped me along on my homeschooling journey.

Just like Radical Unschooling has. I am very thankful for all those who share a part of themselves and their time that helped me build our family’s relationship. Radical unschooling helped me step outside the learning box and be able to see it for what it is. It helped me truly see my children and get to know who they are. It challenged and opened my mind to see all the world and its many connections and for this I am so thankful but I can feel the pull of a new growth spurt coming on. It’s time to shed yet another label.

While reviewing mathematics with Miss Sky I began to remember why we struggled in this area so. She needs lots and lots of review in order to retain information. Little Sis you can explain carrying and borrowing once and she has it down, with Miss Sky it is not so easy.

These last few weeks Miss Sky and I have had many conversations about her future and her interests. She realizes what is expected of her if she wants to see these goals through, though that doesn’t mean she agrees with all of them. She questions “why” about things too. 🙂

So I kept going back to what she did remember and we have started there with me writing 2 problems on the board everyday. She is also working through a workbook and when I see her having trouble we stop and practice until she has it mastered.

She also needed a quick review of cursive writing and has been practicing with a new poem I write on the board each Monday.

DSCF6415

I am not worried about her writing as much as her typing but feel she should be able to do it if ever the need be.

Little Sis has been practicing her cursive too. She likes “school” time and always has. She thinks it is fun, for now anyway.

DSCF6407

Both girls have been practicing with some math games I found on-line.

DSCF6413

(Little Sis)

http://www.free-training-tutorial.com/math-games.html

Games, yes

DSCF6412

and we read The Witch Family.

Little Sis has been reading, reading

DSCF6414

DSCF6409

starting the Junie B. Jones series.

She is also learning how to look words up in the dictionary.

DSCF6403

Current events brought our globe out

DSCF6406

and Miss Sky has been busy drawing.

DSCF6405

(Baby Luna)

DSCF6408

(Mature Luna)

We watched 2 more episodes of the Dear America series on Netflix and this weeks family movie was The Goonies.

From the kitchen this week? Apple pie oatmeal.

DSCF6410

Made with gluten free oats, brown sugar and cinnamon glazed apples, and maple glazed nuts with a little vanilla Silk poured over the top. Delicious.

Peace for the journey.

One Response to “Week In The Life (“Sunrise Doesn’t Last All Morning…”)”

  1. Nikole Says:

    I’ve never been one to fit neatly into a label or group, either. I prefer the learn as you go and question everything method of evolving as a parent and as a person. Looks like lots of good, engaged learning going on in your household.

    We used to have a blow-up globe like that, too, but I haven’t seen it in ages. I wonder what happened to it…. Also, apple pie oatmeal sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

