Week In The Life (“A Penny Saved…”)

One of Papa and my goals is to be debt free, with the exception of our mortgage that too will be paid off early though, by next year. We both work very hard, Papa more physically of course, to find ways of cutting back. I just knew there was a cheaper way than spending $6 on 1 gluten and dairy free pizza, toppings being extra, especially when I already have a kick butt pizza sauce recipe and I was right.

DSCF6473

So I purchased some gluten free brown rice tortillas, vegan mozzarella cheese, 1 6oz can black olives (that I slice myself), 1 4oz can mushrooms, 8oz sliced ham lunchmeat that I cut in squares, and pulled a jar of my homemade pizza sauce from the freezer and got right to work.

DSCF6474

Being I had one left from another package, I needed to taste test you know, I made 7 gluten and dairy free tortilla pizzas with toppings for under $20. I put the other 6 on baking sheets out in our deep freezer for about an hour and used the wax paper and package the tortillas came in to stack the frozen pizzas (3 in each package) then put those in freezer bags to have on hand.

I baked the 7th one at 425 for about 8 minutes.

DSCF6475

The results were thumbs up from everyone. You could do these with regular tortillas, which I make homemade as well, or pita bread.

This wasn’t the only vegan recipe to get 2 thumbs way up(okay being the pizzas had ham I know they were not vegan but they easily could be).

DSCF6471

How about flourless fudgy peanut butter chocolate chip brownies? Oh man were they good! I used 1/3 cup coconut sugar instead of honey.

http://www.ambitiouskitchen.com/2013/10/fudgy-peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-brownies-flourless-gluten-free-vegan/

I also used our soup bones to make beef broth.

DSCF6463

http://theelliotthomestead.com/2011/12/homemade-beef-broth/

I let them simmer overnight on the stove for 24 hours. I use the meat from the bones to make a big pot of beef and noodles. For me I take about a cup of broth using cornstarch to make a gravy to toss the beef in and eat over mashed potatoes, very good.

Learning this week? Well there was a new poem

DSCF6466

and words of the week.

DSCF6467

There is always Minecraft,

DSCF6461

(they learned how to make fireworks)

Fan fiction, Scibblenauts, Freaky Forms,

DSCF6465

DSCF6464

(Miss Sky)

drawings,

DSCF6462

(Little Sis)

and games.

DSCF6472

DSCF6476

While helping Miss Sky with her mathematics Little Sis played Jumpstart

DSCF6469

and learned odd and even. Miss Sky finished Junie B. Jones Turkeys we have loved and Eaten.

I guess all that is left to say is peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

