Week(s) In The Life ( A Fraction Of Your Time)

So in my last post I had every intention to add what we have been up to but it began getting a bit long. I was meaning to explain why so long in between posts. Well besides goal making the spring cleaning bug has hit. So between being busy homeschooling and cleaning blog writing has taken the back seat. I hope to get caught up with this post.

I guess I will start with last night’s episode of Cosmos. We absolutely loved it. Miss Sky has always loved all things science and she was actually just as excited as I was for the premier. We had conversations lasting well into today with Little Sis asking lots of questions about Earth’s gravitational pull, why we don’t fly off and how we don’t keep from spinning farther into space. Miss Sky pretty much sums it up, “I can’t wait to buy this series”. We also have been watching Where On Earth Is Carmen Sandiego and Pokémon.

Reading and playing?

DSCF6659

Little Sis started the Jenny the cat series and loves it. She is also enjoying the Chi’s Sweet Home manga and passed the Cooking Mama DS game. She has made a request for the new 3DS game as she really likes it. I finished Ramona’s World and Miss Sky is reading Junie B. Jones Mushy Gushy Valentime’s. Miss Sky also started the Sailor Moon manga series.

DSCF6653

For mathematics Miss Sky has been reviewing equivalent fractions as well as reducing, adding and subtracting same denominators, adding mixed fractions, factoring and prime numbers. Little Sis is still subtracting with regrouping and playing Putt-Putt Travels Through Time.

Baking? Yep with sugar cookies,

DSCF6634

DSCF6638

chocolate crinkle cookies,

DSCF6641

DSCF6644

and maple cookies.

DSCF6654

DSCF6662

Which brings me to our road trip to Salem Indiana for the annual maple syrup festival.

DSCF6647

Besides the word of the week,

DSCF6633

I started a root word of the week with Miss Sky.

Being that Miss Sky is 13 and pretty soon needing PE/ Health credits we started working out to Walking Away The Pounds with Leslie Sansone. I really like her for a “beginner” and Miss Sky does not like dancing workouts so this is a perfect fit. She is learning the difference between aerobic and muscle toning as well as the importance of warming up and cooling down. She is learning what a recovery heart rate is and how to take her resting heart rate. She is also learning about calories and what “burning calories” means as well as the many different muscles she is working.

We planted wheat grass for our Spring nature table,

DSCF6665

and you know there is always drawing. A few examples from our weeks.

DSCF6636

(Little Sis)

DSCF6630

(Miss Sky)

From the kitchen,

DSCF6639

the best gluten and dairy free pancakes I have ever had using ground oats and some of the strawberries I froze from the strawberry patch (delicious cooked in cast iron) .

http://glutenfreeonashoestring.com/healthy-oatmeal-gluten-free-pancakes/

Then having fresh maple syrup I made a batch of gluten and dairy free cranberry granola.

DSCF6657

I have tried a few different granola recipes but always come back to the recipe from Feeding The Whole Family by Cynthia Lair. I use Earth Balance instead of butter and gluten free oats. I love it with vanilla Silk.

Well I think that is about it. Of course I always seem to have the feeling of forgetting something and probably have. 🙂

Peace for the journey.

2 Responses to “Week(s) In The Life ( A Fraction Of Your Time)”

  1. Shelley Felker Says:

    As usual, you tickle me pink….Awesome job momma, where’s my cookies? 🙂 oxox

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      One I know you are kidding about the cookies, but seriously if you like oatmeal chocolate chip count on getting a sample.

      Oh and thanks, it feels good getting a pat on the back once in a while. 🙂

Leave a Reply

