Week(s) In The Life ( Zoo-rific)

Well a few months ago, because spring had been so dry here, I predicted drought. Boy I couldn’t have been more wrong. I think I needed to water our garden twice so far this summer. It has rained at least once a week. The temps have been beautiful! Todays high mid 70s. It has put a bit of a damper on the girls swimming though. However they did manage to sneak in a few days.

DSCF6938

So not being on my blog for awhile I noticed my pictures added from Flickr only show the links for some reason. I tried to fix some but honestly I really just don’t have the time to fix them all. I don’t really know why now all of a sudden it might have changed.

Anyways we had a lovely little break. I decided that we will finish up a few things these next few weeks and then take the rest of summer off, still keeping a bit of routine with reading aloud and math review. I mean we started in January and almost have our 180 days in already. Honestly it works out great this way, this is when we are the most busy outdoors and being that we never stop learning anyway. Why not?

I think after all these years of homeschooling we have finally found *our* groove. Homeschooling is so different in many ways. It’s not just school at home, been there tried that even if it was Waldorf school. It’s not unschooling, or not schooling because you are in some ways “schooling”. No matter how pretty you package it up or try to sell it, this is the 21st century and school is part of society. Being at home there are *many* different ways to learn a subject. My youngest learned to read while playing Animal Jam on the computer, I didn’t need worksheets. However they still need to learn to read or do long division even if it’s just to get a GED.

It’s a whole different concept of combining life skills with learning. I know why schools came to be, and for many they are the only way some children stand a chance of receiving an education and some children truly want to go to school, but that ship has sailed (grow and evolve, all things must pass). It’s saying HEY wait a minute, we don’t have to do what everyone else is doing. We have a choice.

Don’t get me wrong homeschooling is hard. Sky is going to be in 8th grade, 8th grade! It has taken me all this time to find what works best for us. Some days I think what the hell am I doing? Who do I think I am? But they are learning, they are learning to survive in *their* century. They are learning WAY more than I ever did at their age and that keeps me pushing on. I see a new generation of children in our future. A generation of free thinkers and life changers and that makes it worth it to me. πŸ™‚

So what have we been doing besides swimming, uhem ?

Language Arts: Reading Coraline, and listening to the Snow Queen.

http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/198/the-snow-queen/

We wanted to see how much of Frozen was from the tale being I had never read it myself and honestly it wasn’t one of my favorites. The girls rate it a 5 out of 10. It had a lot of possibilities but they fell flat in my opinion. Maybe I’m being a bit too hard or we are just spoiled by Lewis and Baum. Let’s just say we like the movie Frozen better.

We loved Coraline and watched the movie afterwards. We all agreed there were parts we liked from the book better but also we thought parts from the movie worked better too. We gave the book and movie 9 out of 10.

Sky created her character’s (for the story she is creating) 6 page “wiki” while on break.

DSCF6936

Mathematics: Moving on measuring time with hours,

DSCF6963

and games.

DSCF6959

More review for Sky and The Tables for Little Sis.

DSCF6962

Science: Bill Nye science guy episode on the moon and the zoo.

DSCF6940

DSCF6953

DSCF6955

P.E. Walking Away The Pounds.

The Arts: Besides the movie Coraline we watched Disney’s musical The Newsies, Shirley Temple’s Rebecca Of Sunnybrook Farm (which had nothing to do with the book other than the character Rebecca living somewhat on a farm), Saving Mr. Banks (This movie gets a 10 from me but Mary Poppins is my 6th most favorite movie and 3rd favorite musical. Yes I am all about lists and ratings. πŸ™‚ ), and Thor 2. Also the girls and I have been getting in with the series Yu-Gi-Oh which Miss Sky discovered.

From the Garden: We are almost ready for a batch of fried green tomatoes, my most favorite food. Everything is doing great, our soil is beautiful and lots of lighting bugs and bees have been surrounding me while pulling weeds. No praying mantis or ladybugs yet. I am wondering if it is because of the rain. We are hoping to build a ladybug home in our garden soon.

From the kitchen: My most favorite new breakfast, green eggs and ham omelet.

DSCF6960

Spinach, feta cheese and ham.

I learned some good news and bad news about my food sensitivities. One I can have lactose free dairy products which includes a few hard cheeses but there are a lot more foods added to my can’t eat list like legumes, soy, onions, garlic, apples, honey, high fructose corn syrup, and broccoli along with the dairy and gluten. It’s called the low FODMAP diet. I ate soy to replace the dairy and we ate lots of beans but my body just can’t digest them causing me all kinds of pain. I am in the elimination period and feel the best I have in years. I have been off my prescription acid blocker now for 2 months. Not even needing TUMS. I have been taking an acid blocker for over 5 years. Finally, finally getting answers!

Here I am once again learning how to cook a new way. πŸ™‚

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

