Week In The Life (Our Mutual Core)

Well the children in our school district are back in school. The neighborhood has been quiet. We live within walking distance of all the schools in our district and it is bitter sweet seeing all the children walking back and forth from school. In the morning their steps are slow and quiet. On the way home their pace has quickened. I still don’t miss it and I know the girls don’t.

I use to ask them before each new year started if they wanted to go to school but now I know they would tell me if they did. It is weird though to think how we just started our break and that the school children’s just ended. How our days have become more relaxed enjoying what the season has left to offer. Like high 70s for the temperature.

From the garden: Our Roma tomatoes are just now beginning to turn red. I’m glad too because this year’s crop has been the best yet (jars are all ready to go as I just finished our last jar for pizza sauce). Our grape tomatoes are plentiful now and we have been enjoying snacking on handfuls in between salads. My new favorite snack, grape tomatoes and sliced mozzarella cheese. 🙂

DSCF7021

Our red potato crop was ready (about 10 pounds worth). We our still waiting on the yellow and I tried my hand at sweet potatoes this year which are coming along nicely. Time to till where we had the garlic (that is now cured and ready to eat, putting back a head to plant this fall again) and red potatoes to plant spinach, turnips, and radishes.

From the kitchen: I have been freezing berries for smoothies during winter.

DSCF7020

I find it works best to freeze them individually first, slicing the strawberries in half, before storing them in freezer bags. I love adding them to my favorite gluten free oat flour pancakes too (made now with Kefir instead of Silk). Nothing like a taste of summer during winter.

From the home front: Science, science, art, reading, games, science.

DSCF7025

Starting with BBC’s Earth: The Biography where we learned about volcanoes, the atmosphere, ice, oceans, and rare earth. We also watched Bill Nye’s episode on evolution. To shake things up I brought in Bjork’s Biophilia album and we watched her videos from the album on YouTube.

Let’s see, Ramona is in circulation again, Tomodachi Life is still very popular, and we watched The Lego Movie. We are finishing up season 1 of Yu-Gi-Oh and the girls introduced me to Death Note which I am loving so we watched the live action movie. Oh and continuing Walk Away the Pounds.

The girls have been drawing away.

DSCF7024

(Little Sis)

I have been debating on whether to add Sky’s work as it is getting more mature but she is working hard too.

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

