Week In The Life (Not So Quiet On The Homefront)

Enjoying our break we are. Busy we have been. So much goodness coming from the garden and kitchen.

From the garden: Our onions are ready for curing.

DSCF7027

The first batch of Roma’s were ready to make into sauce, which we use throughout the year for chili, pizza sauce, and sloppy joe (that I eat over a baked potato or sweet potato).

DSCF7028

This year I want to keep track of how many jars I need to get us through the winter. I think our supply will be less this year due to the cooler summer we had. I jar salsa, with our tomatoes, to replace tomatoes for tacos during winter too. Papa will not eat tomatoes unless they are homegrown.

From the kitchen: We froze our first batch of corn.

DSCF7034

We go through about 50 ears of corn during the winter and spring.

I tried a new recipe over the weekend that was a HUGE success.

DSCF7031

Gluten-free zucchini bread pancakes. They are SO good I am making up batches to freeze for when I crave something sweet. I have reduced my sugar intake drastically. They are good to eat plain, to me they taste just like zucchini bread. I can’t wait to try my hand at pumpkin and gingerbread pancakes.

Okay for the recipe, I used my most favorite gluten-free pancake recipe, which I use maple syrup in place of the honey,

http://glutenfreeonashoestring.com/healthy-oatmeal-gluten-free-pancakes/

and added 2 cups grated zucchini, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 cup chopped walnuts. Delish!

From the study: Besides our usual game play,

DSCF7035

Science: We watched the movie Life of Pi again. This time from the point of views of “science” and “religion”. We had many discussions about evidence verses faith.

We watched the Discovery Atlas Hawaii episode and How the Universe Works episodes Extreme Stars, Black Holes, The Big Bang, and Alien Galaxies.

American History: We watched the movie Summer Story, which is another installment of stories from Jean Shepherd who wrote The Christmas Story. It was fun to see life in the 40s for the average Hoosier family.

We finished Ramona the Brave and started Ramona the Pest. I accidently grabbed the wrong Ramona book reading Brave before Pest but being we have read this series more than once it really doesn’t matter which order we read them. They are a favorite around these parts.

P.E. Sticking with Walk Away The Pounds, I myself am ready for the 3 mile. Sky is too but I won’t push her she can quit after 2 miles if she wants.

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

