Week In The Life (Insectmania)

Welcome September! And Happy Labor Day.

I think I am beginning to except the reality that Autumn is near. So that means walks in the park and apple cider slushies’ .

DSCF7068

2.7 mile walks to be exact. I love watching the leaves turn colors, not to mention all the wildlife we spot along the way.

DSCF7070

In my opinion nothing welcomes fall better than having fresh apples just waiting to be devoured, and devoured they quickly become.

From the garden: I tried planting carrots in containers this year. This is what I got.

DSCF7059

Not bad for my first try. Next year I plan to do things a bit differently when planting the seeds. We shall see.

I spotted the first praying mantis so far this year, finally.

DSCF7054 

Fingers crossed there are more hiding about. Our garden spider continues to do well,

DSCF7057

(It is tucked nicely away in the little tunnel) and why not there are plenty of crickets to make a meal of. Oh and there is more (besides the stink bugs). While picking tomatoes I found what has been nibbling my Roma tomatoes, a huge grasshopper.

DSCF7061

It has been relocated far away from our garden. Speaking of tomatoes,

From the kitchen: 3 more jars of tomato sauce and 8 jars of salsa.

DSCF7065 

(Another one of my favorite sounds is hearing the lid seal on a Ball Jar) The only veggie I needed to purchase was the bell peppers as our plants didn’t do that great this year (I think due to a rabbit family living nearby). Though now they are beginning to take off with the warm front we’ve had. Who knows maybe a late harvest.

From the study: Little Sis requested a trip to the library where she discovered a new series she loves. Whatever After by Sarah Mlynowski. “It is like a girl version of Kingdom Hearts.” She is over halfway done.

DSCF7074

Let’s see, Walk Away the Pounds, games, starting Pippi Goes On Board. Finishing the Back to the Future series, continuing Yu-Gi-Oh!, and Sky requesting What Would Jesus Buy.

 I always mention that this is the movie that changed my life. Both girls, while watching it themselves for the first time, seeing Reverend Billy take the screen both looked over at me and replied “Really mom?”. Yes, really. After finishing the movie Sky understood.

It was after viewing this movie that Papa and I cut up our credit cards and started our journey toward a more simple life. It was this movie that started us supporting local business and farmers. It was this movie that brought my focus back to traditions and making memories instead of constantly consuming. It was my “awaking”, when I began to finally think for myself. 

I have learned A LOT since then, that alone could be an entire post itself. 🙂 The short version, the girls have learned to be better consumers by Papa and my examples. I didn’t need to force or shame them for what they chose to spend *their* money on. They came to these conclusions themselves. 

Both girls have much more an understanding of how the world works than I did at their age. I truly do believe because they have not been separated from “the real world” to be trained on how to live in the real world. The longer I homeschool the more clear it becomes.

Peace for the journey.

2 Responses to “Week In The Life (Insectmania)”

  1. Miriam Says:

    You should write a post about your change of heart 🙂 I haven’t seen that movie, and really I’ve never been much of a consumer, but we made a conscious shift toward being debt-free and living more simply a few years ago. I let my husband handle the finances while I was overwhelmed caring for children, and by the time I realized what was going on we were buried in a mountain of debt.
    We’ve lived within our means for over two years now, and we’re halfway through paying off our debt. I cannot wait until we’re done!

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Yes, same with us. Spending more than we made plus hospital bills and no insurance and we were way in over our head. 2015 we will be debt free with exception of our mortgage. We are working to have it paid off in 10 years (doubling our principle payment every month).

      So glad the girls are able to see first hand what living within their means, means. 🙂

Leave a Reply

