Week In The Life (Arabian Nights)

What a dreary week. I think we had one day of sun, which was today and I took full advantage of it as cooler temps near. The garlic is in the ground and the garden is ready for a winter’s rest. Due to a child’s birthday this week our lessons were a bit shorter and there really isn’t anything new coming out of the kitchen besides more apples and more apple crisp. Thoughts of maybe pumpkin butter this year but then I am also thinking that means more breading so what’s the point? I am very serious about reaching my weight goal.

I received my lab work, for cholesterol, thyroid, hormones, and sugar, and everything was “great”, their words. My cholesterol was 118 which is a little tiny bit elevated. 99 or less being excellent, so bye-bye coconut oil and butter(except for special occasions of course). I have made most of our meals using olive oil and Earth Balance this week, which I mostly did anyway. Being we purchase a whole hog, from a local farm, to last our family all year we have learned how to make our bacon and sausage last (bacon is a once a month treat) and we already incorporate a meatless night.  I am pretty sure my higher cholesterol is probably from the coconut oil which almost all my baking recipes call for. You don’t really realize our, Americans, dependence on baked goods until you no longer want to eat them. 🙂 I am very much in need of some new breakfast ideas.

The girls did make chocolate snack cake this week. I am really impressed with how they know their way around the kitchen. Sky cooks so much different than myself but she has always done things different, that is just her and it works and that is all that matters.

From the study: Language arts, We are listening to The Arabian Nights Entertainments from LibriVox.

https://librivox.org/the-arabian-nights-entertainments-volume-01-by-anonymous/

We have found it to be very interesting. The girls continued the Daily Grammar lessons and took the first quiz. Their word of the week was bureaucracy.

Sky is still writing stories and trying to translate them into Latin.

DSCF7118

Mathematics: Little Sis did 4 digit addition and subtraction with carrying and borrowing review from Math is fun and Sky continued working on prime factorization.

Social Studies: World History, Continuing with our Mesopotamia studies, the girls copied notes on the Babylonian, Assyrian Empires and we watched a short video about Hammurabi’s code of laws.

 

DSCF7120

(Little Sis)

We also reviewed what we previously learned about ancient Egypt, watched the Crash Course video again and the girls added notes to their timelines.

DSCF7119

(Miss Sky)

We Walked Away the Pounds and watched part 1 of Globe Trekker, The Arab Gulf States.

Peace for the journey.

2 Responses to “Week In The Life (Arabian Nights)”

  1. Miriam Says:

    I’m also trying to lose weight, and I’ve gotten myself in the habit of drinking a smoothie most mornings. There are lots of different ways to make them, depending on what you like. I find it’s a great way to eat (soaked) chia seeds, which I believe has helped me lose a few pounds. Losing weight is SO much harder than putting it on 😦

    We also eat a lot of oatmeal- both rolled oats and steel cut.

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      I like smoothies and oatmeal for breakfast. My family, especially my husband does not. Right now it is make my breakfast and theirs. I’m trying to find middle ground and breakfast is hard.

      I am going to try adding chia seeds to my smoothies and flax. You’re so right, weight was a lot easier to put on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

