Week In The Life (“Great Scott”, 10/21/15)

If felt SO good being able to clean our house this week. Yes, it felt good, really good. I had a really good routine going before my surgery. If fact, everything was sparkly clean, my injury changed all that.

Don’t get me wrong, our house never got out of control dirty. Papa, would never allow that. He can’t stand clutter. However, it did lose its sparkle. I mean, I couldn’t bend. So, imagine clothes, that’s usually inside my dresser, folded on the top of it for easier access. It drove Papa nuts. This week I managed to bring the sparkle back. Though, it did suck needing to start all over again.

It’s just in time too as we prepare for the upcoming time change. I’ve already noticed it’s beginning to get dark sooner. I’m not ashamed to mention my dislike for shorter daylight hours. I’ve already stocked our home with new candles. As soon as the sun goes down, I light them. I don’t know what I would without our wood stove during winter. There is something so soothing about fire, that keeps me going during the darker months of fall and winter.

Since we are finishing up our school year, tying up any loose ends, I decided to have a little fun this week.

Language Arts

Reading

We read Dracula, chapters 9-16.

Man, there is so much to discuss in this story. Sky has been wanting to start a Psychology credit for awhile now. I’ve felt bad not really knowing when I would be able to fit it in. I mean part of homeschooling is being able to follow your child’s interests.

Well, I had everything planned out for us to start an Astronomy credit after the new year. I think I will change that though and start psychology instead.

It has always been part of Sky’s intention to use her art degree to help tutor children suffering from anxiety, to help them learn how art can be one option to use an outlet. Art has been her outlet to help her get through some pretty tough times, and she wants to pass that on. Who knows, maybe she will end up going into art therapy. Who better to understand panic attacks and anxiety, than someone that has experience with it themselves?

Handwriting

The girls copied parts 1 and 2 of The Bells by Edgar Allen Poe.

http://poestories.com/read/bells

Spelling/ Vocabulary

Little Sis practiced list 3 from the 4th grade spelling list at SpellingClassroom.com.

Sky practiced her week 2 list from Dracula at Quizlet.

oppressiveness, emaciated, unfettered, psychosis, ravings, endure, scurries, defile, inevitable, composure, transfusions, scald, superstition, frail, avail.

Math

Warm up at Xtramath.

Little Sis, 3rd grade Math Made Easy workbook.

Sky, percents in Kumon workbook, and at Khan Academy.

Science

Wednesday, being it was the 21st of October 2015 as was predicted in Back to the Future 2, we watched the movie and discussed the differences in what they thought we would have, compared to what we really have. Like, we have no flying cars ( According to Neil deGrasse Tyson though, we do. They are called helicopters. Listening to his opinion of why flying cars would never work, for one they make too much noise, was a fun addition).

We also discussed scientists predictions for the future from IFLS, watched Marty McFly and Doc Brown visit Jimmy Kimmel Live, and 10 things Back to the Future got right, and got wrong, by China Uncensored. (YouTube)

http://www.iflscience.com/editors-blog/it-s-back-future-day-today-so-what-are-next-future-predictions

WP_20151025_14_09_34_Pro

History

World

PBS Indian Summers

Art

We learned about the history of Gothic Art from Good-by Art Academy,

and discussed Gothic painters like the Limbourg Brothers.

The girls listed 10 things they learned.

WP_20151023_10_33_26_Pro

We also watched The Avengers, Age of Ultron. Then, watched Brows Held High, between the lines The Avengers. (YouTube)

Culinary Arts

The girls made chocolate chip cookies using oat flour.

WP_20151023_10_33_07_Pro

We doubled the recipe and only added 2/3 cup of coconut oil instead of a cup, and it was still way too much. Also, I didn’t care for the baking soda taste in the cookies. I want to try to make these again, but next time with less baking soda and use Earth Balance. The texture and sugar amount was perfect though.

http://www.chelseasmessyapron.com/best-ever-healthy-chocolate-chip-cookies/

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym this week.

Wishing everyone a safe and happy Halloween,

peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

