Week In The Life (Don’t Worry, Be Hopi)

When taking a break from our regular school lessons, the girls artistic side really emerges.

I still cringe when I hear parents comment about, “All my child wants to do is……”, or, “All my child does is…..” It signals, to me, that the parent disapproves what their child is doing, and if I can hear it, so does your child. Maybe, the parents think it’s not “educational” enough.

If there is one thing, as a “veteran” homeschooler (Yes, I think I can call myself that now 🙂 ), that I want to say (scream really, but I don’t think that would be well received) to all new homeschoolers, is why recreate a broken system that you’re choosing not to participate in, at home?

I understand, that homeschooling is a personal choice, and there are many different reasons why we do it. Some homeschool, because they don’t like what is being taught today in school. They want to homeschool recreating a broken system, but under their beliefs. I understand that.

I understand, some parents don’t have time to sit down and plan out what their children might want to learn, and that a ready made curriculum can come in handy. Hey, I understand life gets busy, but you do not need one to homeschool.

What does irritate me, is when parents put their children’s interests down in front of others. When they see no value in what their child is doing, because to them, it doesn’t look like learning.

I have shared the difference in my children’s learning style here multiple times. I have a 10 year old that reads teen fiction, and completed two years of math this year. There is no doubt in my mind, she will probably graduate high school early.

I also have a 15 year old, who struggles through her math lessons, has a hard time with spelling, and doesn’t read long 500 page novels on her own time. She is a visual learner, and learns best by watching something, over reading about it.

If I were to say, “All my 15 year old wants to do, is watch television.” I would be putting down the way she learns. And you know you’ll never hear, “All my 10 year old wants to do, is read 500 page novels.” because that seems more educational, than “just watching television”.

Sky will tell you herself, that she would love to be able to learn like Little Sis. She would love to be able to do 2 years of math in one year. As her parent, I can tell you how hard she is trying. I can’t force her to learn though. I can not change her, nor do I want to. She is not broken.

Homeschooling, allows for us to tailor our child’s education to fit their personal needs. That was the driving force behind why I started homeschooling in the first place. If Sky was in school, she would fail.(I have several reasons for knowing this too, trust me. 🙂 )

Sky gets visual ideas from watching television, no different than if she was observing a painting (which she gets ideas from too). My job as her facilitator, is to expand those ideas, and interests beyond her knowledge. (Now, the girls are able to connect Iago from Disney’s Aladdin with Iago from Othello ,and think it’s funny. “Patience, Iago.” )  You know what else? I’ve learned a whole lot from her too. 🙂

So, lets get caught up with projects the girls worked on while “off” from school.

When not reading Life and Death, by Stephenie Meyer, Little Sis worked on her art skills.

WP_20151115_17_29_35_Pro

WP_20151117_16_10_06_Pro

When not discussing the book A Storm of Swords, from the Game of Thrones Fire and Ice series, with me, (which I am now 60% of the way through, by the way. Woohoo!) Sky worked on a bit of drawing,

WP_20151111_13_49_40_Pro

WP_20151111_13_49_57_Pro

WP_20151111_13_50_21_Pro

sewing,

WP_20151111_13_47_14_Pro

and read the short story Children of the Corn, by Stephen King (thanks Nostalgia Critic 🙂 ).

Homeschool:

Language Arts:

Reading,

Little Sis requested reading The Bridge to Terabithia. We read chapters 1-8.

I am using a combination of resources for this story, to help them learn about plot conflict, and foreshadowing (they actually have learned these topics from watching Nostalgia Critic, but Sky needs 180 hours for a composition credit.)

https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/BRIDGE-TO-TERABITHIA-Conflict-Graphic-Organizer-6-Types-of-Conflict-1034362

Library Sparks.com (Jan. 07 issue, Bridge to Terabithia )

http://librarysparks.com/LibrarySparks/pages/archive/2007/jan

Their vocabulary and spelling words came from THE GLENCOE LITERATURE LIBRARY study guide of the story.

http://www.glencoe.com/sec/literature/litlibrary/terabithia.html

Their final essay for the year will be from here.

https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Bridge-to-Terabithia-Final-Essay-1561744

We also read chapters 1-12 from The Song of Hiawatha by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

https://librivox.org/the-song-of-hiawatha-by-henry-wadsworth-longfellow/

Handwriting,

The girls copied the poem After the Rains, by Ramsom Lomatewama.

WP_20151117_16_09_19_Pro

(Miss Sky)

Mathematics:

Warming up at XtraMath.org.

Little Sis will finish her Math Made Easy, grade 3, math workbook next week. I decided to wait until after the holidays to start grade 4 mathematics from Khan Academy. I gave her a bar graph assignment instead. First, she made the bar graph from the worksheet. Both girls have been keeping track of how much television they watch this week to make their own bar graph. We also read about bar graphs from the book, Math, A Book you can count on.

https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Make-Your-Own-Bar-Graph-Turn-Off-the-Television-346729

Sky did more worksheets on finding percents.

https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Percents-of-Numbers-Dining-Out-129766

History:

World,

We discussed Diwali,

http://www.pbs.org/newshour/rundown/diwali-celebrations-worldwide/

watched another video about Dracula’s castle,

and watched PBS, Indian Summers.

American,

We watched the Scholastic video from the book Giving Thanks, by Chief Jake Swamp.

Music,

We listened to the songs mentioned in the book Bridge to Terabithia. Up, Up and Away, This Land Is Your Land, Free to Be You and Me, Blowing in the Wind, and the big 70’s hit, when I was a child, You Light Up My Life.

Art,

We learned about glass blowing from Ramsom Lomatewama,

and Navajo sand painting.

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym.

The Arts

The girls made Christmas cards and ornaments for a nearby nursing home.

WP_20151119_13_22_13_Pro

 

WP_20151119_13_55_42_Pro

 

WP_20151119_13_55_20_Pro

 

WP_20151119_13_46_20_Pro

We watched the 1931 version of Dracula,

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0021814/

and saw a sneak peak of the Children Ballet’s Nutcracker.

WP_20151115_13_39_45_Pro

 

WP_20151115_14_32_21_Pro

Tomorrow we are going to see Mockinjay part 2 in theaters, Little Sis can’t wait.

Peace for the journey.

http://www.glencoe.com/sec/literature/litlibrary/pdf/bridge_to_terebithia.pdf

http://www.glencoe.com/sec/literature/litlibrary/pdf/bridge_to_terebithia.pdf

Leave a Reply

