A Book Review By Miss Sky

Today I will be reviewing The Darkest Part Of The Forest by Holly Black.

In a strange town called Fairfold, where Folklore lives among the humans, a young girl named Hazel and her brother Ben wait for the sleeping horned boy, that lies in an unbreakable casket deep in the forest, to awaken.

Hazel is our main protagonist who longs to be a knight and fight the monsters that dwell in the forest. Her brother Ben was given the ability to become a great musician that ends up being a curse, instead of a gift.

I personally loved the atmosphere that the author created in the story. It gives a feeling of horror and wonder at the same time. I liked the mix between the ancient Folklore and modern times as well. Where the story starts to go downhill is, that the main characters of the book are bland, selfish, and stupid at times. I honestly didn’t care if they were going to be okay or not, and felt more sorry for minor characters, like the tourists, and even an antagonist.

I have a major complaint with the main character Hazel, I felt like she gives other strong heroines a bad reputation. Her “heroic sacrifice” to me, was selfish, stupid, and unnecessary. Even the modern plot twist couldn’t change my opinion of this story. I felt like there was so much potential for this story given its atmosphere, but instead it turned out to be a huge disappointment.

I really wouldn’t recommend it, and instead suggest picking up a book about Irish Folklore instead such as Faeries by Brian Froud and Alan Lee.

I give this book 2 out of 5 stars because the author did do a really good job combining the Folklore with modern times.

Leave a Reply

